ACS Award for Team Innovation

Purpose: To highlight the value and importance of technical teams and teamwork to the chemical and allied industries by recognizing a multidisciplinary team for successfully moving an innovative idea to a product now in commercial use.

Nature: For each team member, the award consists of $3,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed to each team member. A certificate will also be provided to the employers of the team.

Eligibility: The team shall be multidisciplinary in nature and consist of not fewer than two (2) nor more than five (5) members. The team's work leading to this award must have been carried out primarily in the United States and the technical accomplishments of the team must be documented in the technical literature as a publication(s) or a patent(s). The output of the team must also demonstrate innovation, commercialization of a product or process, be of a special value to society, and of a nature that could only be achieved by professionals working together effectively. The rate of commercialization of the team's output will also be considered in the selection of the recipients of this award. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 1994, with financial support from the Committee on Corporation Associates of the American Chemical Society.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


Matthew F. Brown (Pfizer, Inc), Mark E. Flanagan (Pfizer, Inc), Chakrapani Subramanyam (Pfizer, Inc), Paul S. Changelian (Confluence Life Sciences), and Michael J. Munchhof (Michael J. Munchhof, LLC).

Ryan Gaston, James R. Keenihan, Abhijit A. Namjoshi, Stephen Pisklak, and Jason A. Reese, (Dow Chemical).

Ramin Amin-Sanayei, Kevin Hanrahan, John Stuligross, Roice Wille and Kurt Wood (Arkema).

Dustin Caldwell, April Carman, Glen E. Fryxell, Kenneth G. Rappé, and Thomas S. Zemanian (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory).

Raymond E. Boucher, James E. Dripps, Donald E. Kelley, and Nick D. Simmons (Dow AgroSciences LLC).

Patricia Burns (Xerox Research Centre of Webster), Chieh-Min Cheng (Xerox Corporation), Grazyna Kmiecik-Lawrynowicz (Xerox Corporation) and Tie Hwee Ng (Xerox Research Centre of Canada).

Daniel Cordova, John H. Freudenberger, Thomas P. Selby and Thomas M. Stevenson (DuPont Crop Protection).

Hai-Ying Chen (Johnson Matthey Inc.), Neal W. Currier (Cummins Inc.), Howard S. Hess (Johnson Matthey Inc.), Bradlee J. Stroia (Cummins Inc.), Aleksey Yezerets (Cummins Inc.).

Stanley Collins (3M) and Scott R. Culler (3M).

Michael R. Barbachyn (Pfizer Inc.), Steven J. Brickner (Pfizer Inc.), Douglas K. Hutchinson (Abbott Laboratories) and Peter R. Manninen (Eli Lilly and Company)

Charles A. Harbert (retired), B. Kenneth Koe (retired), Reinhard Sarges (retired), Albert Weissman (retired) and Willard M. Welch (retired), Pfizer Inc.

S. Randall Holmes-Farley (Genzyme Drug Discovery and Development) and W. Harry Mandeville (Peptimmune, Inc. for work done at Genzyme Drug Discovery and Devleopment)

2004 Steven A. Van Slyke and Ching W. Tang (Eastman Kodak Company)

Charles R. Harrison, George P. Lahm, Stephen F. McCann, and Keith D. Wing, (E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.,Inc.); and Rafael Shapiro (Bristol-Myers Squibb for work done at E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.,Inc.)

Zhenan Bao, Ananth Dodabalapur, and John A. Rogers (Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies); Karl Amundson and Paul S. Drzaic (E Ink Corporation)

Francis M. Houlihan and Omkaram Nalamasu (Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies), James M. Davidson and Ashok T. Reddy (Arch Chemicals, Inc.); and Arturo N. Medina (Arch Chemicals Semiconductor Photopolymers)

Juan P. Arhancet, Hoe H. Chuah, Donald R. Kelsey, Joseph B. Powell, and Paul R. Weider (Shell Chemical Co.)

Michael Showell and Manuel Venegas (Procter & Gamble Co.); and Richard R. Bott, David Estell, and Thomas P. Graycar (Genencor International)

James H. Anderson, Ronald E. Chance, Richard DiMarchi, and Bruce H. Frank (Eli Lilly & Co.)

David J. Carini, John V. Duncia, and Pancras C. Wong (DuPont Merck Pharmaceutical Co.); and Ronald S. Eydelloth and Michael L. Goldberg (Merck Research Laboratories)

Satish Duggal, Thomas Hinman, Brian Stutts, David F. Thompson, and Raja Wusirika (Corning, Inc.)

2016 recipient Matthew F. Brown (second to left), Michael J. Munchhof (third to left), Mark E. Flanagan (third to right), and Chakrapani Subramanyam (second to right) are presented their award by sponsor representative Diane Grob Schmidt, ACS Immediate Past President (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).