ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding scientific contributions to colloid and/or surface chemistry in North America.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The nominee must be a resident of North America and must have made outstanding scientific contributions to colloid and/or surface chemistry. Recognition will also be given to originality and independence of thought, and to the technological impact of the nominee's contribution. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Colgate-Palmolive Company began sponsorship in 2014. The Procter & Gamble Co. sponsored the award from 1994 to 2013. The ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry was established in 1952 and supported until 1993 by the Kendall Co.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2015 Paul S. Weiss

2014 Kenneth B. Eisenthal

2013 Steve Granick

2012 Robert J. Hamers

2011 Dennis C. Prieve

2010 Moungi G. Bawendi

2009 Jacob N. Israelachvili

2008 Lee R. White

2007 William B. Russel

2006 Alice P. Gast

2005 A. Paul Alivisatos

2004 Joseph A. Zasadzinski

2003 Clayton J. Radke

2002 Charles M. Knobler

2001 Charles T. Campbell

2000 Darsh T. Wasan

1999 Nicholas J. Turro

1998 Eric W. Kaler

1997 Harden M. McConnell

1996 T. G. M. van de Ven

1995 Thomas Engel

1994 J. Kerry Thomas

1993 D. Wayne Goodman

1992 David G. Whitten

1991 W. Henry Weinberg

1990 J. Michael White

1989 Arthur T. Hubbard

1988 Howard Brenner

1987 John T. Yates, Jr.

1986 Eli Ruckenstein

1985 Stig E. Friberg

1984 Brian E. Conway

1983 Janos H. Fendler

1982 Gert Ehrlich

1981 Gabor A. Somorjai

1980 Howard Reiss

1979 Arthur W. Adamson

1978 Harold A. Scheraga

1977 Michel Boudart

1976 Robert J. Good

1975 Robert Gomer

1974 W. Keith Hall

1973 Robert L. Burwell, Jr.

1972 Egon Matijevic

1971 Milton Kerker

1970 Jerome Vinograd

1969 Terrell L. Hill

1968 Albert C. Zettlemoyer

1967 Stanley G. Mason

1966 Robert S. Hansen

1965 George D. Halsey, Jr.

1964 Karol J. Mysels

1963 William Albert Zisman

1962 George Scatchard

1961 Stephen Brunauer

1960 John D. Ferry

1959 Floyd E. Bartell

1958 Paul H. Emmett

1957 Peter J. W. Debye

1956 Victor K. La Mer

1955 John W. Williams

1954 Harry N. Holmes

2015 recipient Paul S. Weiss (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Ammanuel Mehreteab (right), and Diane Grob Schmidt, ACS President (left).