ACS Award in Surface Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize distinguished services in the advancement of surface chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

Eligibility: A nominee must have demonstrated extensive contributions to the advancement of surface chemistry. Activities recognized by the award may include such fields as teaching, writing, research, and administration. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry and The ACS Publications journal Langmuir began sponsorship in 2012. The American Chemical Society sponsored the award from 2008-2010. No award was presented in 2011. The award was established as the Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry by Occidental Petroleum Corp. in 1991 and supported from 1993 - 2007.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2014 Melissa A. Hines

2013 Ulrike Diebold

2012 Steven J. Sibener

2010 Patricia A. Thiel

2009 David A. King

2008 Francisco Zaera

2007 Charles T. Campbell

2006 Steven L. Bernasek

2005 Robert J. Hamers

2004 John C. Hemminger

2003 David L. Allara and Ralph G. Nuzzo

2002 D. Wayne Goodman

2001 J. Michael White

2000 Alvin W. Czanderna

1999 John T. Yates, Jr.

1998 Kenneth B. Eisenthal

1997 Robert J. Madix

1996 Robert Gomer

1995 W. Henry Weinberg

1994 Gabor A. Somorjai

1993 David M. Hercules

2014 recipient Melissa Hines (second to left) is presented her award by sponsor representative Michael Trenary (second to right), Selenah Njoloma (right) and Thomas J. Barton, ACS President (left).