Nominations for ACS National Awards

We will begin accepting nominations for the 2018 ACS National Awards in July.

Nomination period will open: July 1, 2016

Eligibility Criteria


  • Nominators are not required to be members of the Society.
  • A nomination can only have one nominator and the recommendation letter is written by this person.
  • Any individual, except a member of the award selection committee or an ACS Board member during their terms of service on the Board, may submit either one nomination or one support letter for each award. However, selection committee members may submit other nominations or support letters for awards in which they are not serving as a judge.


  • Nominees are not required to be members of the Society. Unless the submission is for the Charles Lathrop Parsons Award or the Award for Volunteer Service to the ACS.
  • The nominee’s accomplishments should be specific to the purpose of the award.
  • In general, a recipient of a widely recognized scientific award is not eligible for an ACS national award unless the accomplishment cited as the basis for the nomination represents new or different work.
  • An individual who has received an ACS National Award may be nominated for a different ACS award if (1) the nomination is for clearly different work from the previous award (the letter of recommendation for the award must address the differences between the work performed for the previous ACS award and that which is addressed in the current nomination) or (2) at least five years has elapsed since the previous ACS award was received. The “five-year” rule is waived for the preceptor(s) of the students who are eligible to receive the Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry.

Rules & Guidelines

  • Nominations remain in the database for three award cycles. If the nominee is not named the recipient, the nominations will automatically rollover to the next award cycle. We do encourage nominators to access the nomination during the award cycle nomination open period July 1-November 1 of each year to update the nomination.
  • After the third award cycle, the nomination will expire.The year the award will be presented to the nominee is the award cycle year. For example, we are now accepting nominations for the 2017 award cycle and the nomination deadline is November 1, 2015. The recipients of these awards will be presented the award in 2017.
  • Some awards are presented biennially (even- or odd-year) or triennially and therefore skip a year.  If a nomination is submitted for a biennial award given in the odd years, the nomination submitted will remain in the database for the 2017, 2019, and 2021 award cycles. Also, support letters remain in the database for the same three award cycles.

Other Information