Contact Us

The ACS Office of Research Grants administers the ACS Petroleum Research Fund, Teva Pharmaceuticals Scholars grants, Herman Frasch Foundation for Chemical Research grants and the Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellowships grants.

For General Inquiries

The Petroleum Research Fund
American Chemical Society
1155 Sixteenth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036

Phone: (202) 872-4481
Fax: (202) 872-6319
Email: prfinfo@acs.org

For specific information:

Dr. Dean A. Dunn

Dr. Dean A. Dunn
Assistant Director

Assistant Director, Office of Research Grants; manages review of ACS PRF research proposals in the areas of Geochemistry, Geology and Geophysics (Committees 2 and 8), and manages geoscience strategic planning.
Phone: (202) 872-4083 Email: d_dunn@acs.org

Dr. Burtrand I. Lee

Dr. Burtrand I. Lee
Program Manager

Manages review of ACS PRF research proposals in the areas of Surface Science and Materials Science (Committees 5 and 10), and supervises grant management for those proposals awarded grants.
Phone: (202) 872-6254 Email: b_lee@acs.org

Dr. Askar Fahr

Dr. Askar Fahr
Program Manager

Manages review of ACS PRF research proposals in the areas of Physical Organic/Mechanistic Chemistry and Chemical Physics/Physical Chemistry (Committees 4 and 6), and supervises grant management for those proposals awarded grants. He is also the Program Manager for Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellowships.
Phone: (202) 872-6207 Email: a_fahr@acs.org

Dr. Thomas Clancy

Dr. Thomas Clancy
Program Manager

Manages review of ACS PRF research proposals in the areas of Polymer Science, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering (Committees 7 and 9), and supervises grant management for those proposals awarded grants. He is also the Program Manager for Herman Frasch Foundation for Chemical Research.
Phone: (202) 872-6093 Email: t_clancy@acs.org

Dr. Nancy Jensen

Dr. Nancy Jensen
Program Manager

Manages review of ACS PRF research proposals in the areas of Synthetic Organic Chemistry and Inorganic Chemistry, which includes Homogenous Catalysis (Committees 1 and 3), and supervises grant management for those proposals awarded grants. Program Manager for Teva Pharmaceuticals Scholars Grants. Phone: (202)872-6186 Email: n_jensen@acs.org

Ms. Gayle Peterman

Ms. Gayle Peterman
Finance and Grants Manager
Manages the administration of all grants including grant payments, budgets, time extensions, transfers, and annual grant reporting by grantee institutions.
Phone: (202) 872-6092
Email: g_peterman@acs.org

Mr. David Riper

Mr. David Riper
Research Database Manager

Manages the Office of Research Grants Gifts database application to ensure the operational availability and data quality of the database for proposal submission (IGAM), review (ReviewerConnect), and grant management activities.
Phone: (202) 872-4482
Email: d_riper@acs.org

Ms. Tara Romig

Ms. Tara Romig
Executive Assistant

Executive Assistant to the Director of the Office of Research Grants, and Meeting Coordinator for the ACS Petroleum Research Fund.
Phone: (202) 872-4459
Email: t_romig2@acs.org

 

Ms. Patricia Haizlip

Ms. Patricia Haizlip
Senior Grants Assistant

Assists the Finance and Grants Manager with the administration of ACS PRF grants. Phone: (202) 872-4483
Email: p_haizlip@acs.org

Ms. Marie Edwards

Ms. Marie Edwards
Lead Program Associate

Manages proposal submissions for Committees 7, 8 & 9 and edits reviews for the proposals submitted to these committees
Phone: (202) 872-6278
Email: k_edwards@acs.org

Mr. Anthony Kittrell

Mr. Anthony Kittrell
Lead Program Associate

Manages proposal submissions for Committees 5 & 10 and edits reviews for the proposals submitted to these committees.
Phone: (202) 872-4484
Email: a_kittrell@acs.org

Ms. Kofo Olu-Ayeni

Ms. Kofo Olu-Ayeni
Lead Program Associate

Manages proposal submissions for Committees 2, 4 & 6 and edits reviews for the proposals submitted to these committees.
Phone: (202) 872-6115
Email: K_Olu-Ayeni@acs.org