Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy (Pittcon) Travel Grant

Applications are now being accepted for the 2016 Pittcon delegation! Please see the application website for more information: https://fs18.formsite.com/acs-oia/form65/index.html


Since 1995, the ACS Committee on International Activities (IAC) has worked with Pittcon and its sponsoring organizers to facilitate participation at the conference by early career analytical chemists from developing countries. Funding from Pittcon and its sponsoring organizations subsidizes the travel costs of attendees and also provides complimentary conference registration and complimentary hotel rooms for the participants.


IAC selects the region from which to invite participants. The Office of International Activities (OIA) contacts national chemical societies and other relevant scientific organizations and asks them to nominate scientists from their country to participate. Nominees represent industry, government and academia. OIA handles all logistics, including arrangements for publicity, solicitation of nominations and applications, and makes arrangements for local activities at Pittcon to connect participants to the ACS.

Past Participants

ACS has hosted scientists at Pittcon each year since 1995. The regions/countries invited are as follows:

1995: Sub-Saharan Africa (Botswana, Ethiopia, Guinea, Kenya, Nigeria, Seychelles, Tanzania, Zimbabwe)

1996: Mexico

1997: Central America (Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama)

1998: India

1999: South America (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru)

2000: Eastern Europe (Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine)

2001: Russia, Central Europe and Central Asia (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan)

2002: Southeast Asia (South Korea, Malaysia, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam)

2003: People’s Republic of China

2004: People’s Republic of China (repeated due to problems with entry/exit visas)

2005: Sub-Saharan Africa (Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe)

2006: South America (Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Panama, and Uruguay)

2007: Adriatic region (targeting participation from Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, and Serbia and Montenegro)

2008: Pacific Rim

2009: Central America and southern Mexico

2010: Middle East/North Africa (Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Yemen)

2011: Eastern Europe: (Croatia, Bulgaria, Ukraine, Macedonia)

2012: South America (Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela)

2013: Sub-Saharan Africa (Botswana, Ethiopia, Guinea, Kenya, Nigeria, Seychelles, Tanzania and Zimbabwe)

2014: Southeast Asia (Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam)

2015: Central America & the Caribbean

2016: Balkans and Baltic States (Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia)