Committee on Chemistry and Public Affairs Report to Council

June 2020 Kevin M. Kuhn, Chair

The Committee on Chemistry and Public Affairs advises and recommends ACS action on public policy matters involving the chemical sciences and technologies. I am pleased to report some of the CCPA activities undertaken to help make ACS a premier advocacy organization.

Public Policy Fellowships

For the past 45 years, the American Chemical Society has sent chemists to Washington D.C. for an immersive experience in how the government works through the ACS Public Policy Fellowships. The purpose of the program is two-fold: to give chemists a better understanding of how government policy affects the chemical enterprise, and to inject some scientific knowledge into the policy-making process. ACS congressional fellows serve in the office of a congressional committee or personal office; science policy fellows work with ACS External Affairs and Communications (EAC) staff in the ACS headquarters in Washington DC.

CCPA provides oversight of the ACS Public Policy fellowship program and guides the annual selection process that selects two congressional fellows. This year, 13 CCPA members and past fellows reviewed nearly 30 applications for the 2020-2021 fellowship term. The fellowship interviews were held virtually this year for the first time due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. I am pleased to share the results of that selection process: **Elizabeth Hunsaker** and **Matthew Diasio** will spend one year working as ACS congressional fellows on Capitol Hill as part of the broader AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships program. **Leila Duman** will continue a second year as the ACS science policy fellow.

ACS members at all career stages are encouraged to apply for the fellowships. More information can be found at www.acs.org/policyfellows.

ACS Public Policy Statements

ACS public policy statements define the Society's advocacy agenda and provide recommendations to policymakers at the state and federal levels. In 2020, CCPA has participated in the multi-committee working groups reviewing the ACS policy statements on science and technology funding in the federal budget, and the U.S. business climate. CCPA will vote on whether to recommend the two statement drafts to the ACS Board of Directors for final approval at the Fall 2020 meeting. All ACS policy statements can be found at www.acs.org/policy.

Member engagement in public policy

CCPA encourages and highlights ACS local section engagement in public policy activities by sponsoring the ACS President's Local Section Government Affairs Award presented at the annual ChemLuminary Awards Reception. CCPA would like to congratulate the Georgia, Puerto Rico, and Northeastern local sections, which have been nominated for their government affairs efforts. Stay tuned to learn which local section is crowned the winner in August! Councilors are urged to include their local sections' advocacy activities in their annual local section reports so that they may be considered for the CCPA ChemLuminary award.

CCPA's vision statement is "Public policy that is much more informed by chemical professionals," and the Committee's mission statement is to "Increase ACS member engagement and effectiveness in impacting public policy." To those ends, one of CCPA's goals is to empower and engage ACS members to interact with federal and state policymakers by providing

tools, training, connections, and networks. CCPA continues to work with staff from External Affairs & Communications to ensure that the online materials to educate and train ACS members to become chemistry and science advocates remain updated and high quality. To that end, CCPA members have served as beta testers for an ACS online advocacy academy currently under development, anticipated to be formally launched in late summer 2020. CCPA applauds the investment of staff time and resources to develop what promises to be a very valuable member resource.

Respectfully submitted, Kevin Kuhn

CCPA Members:

Luke Achenie

Stephen Benn

Alvin Bopp

Susan Butts

Eun-Woo Chang

Deborah Cook

Louise Criscenti

Jay Dias

Michael Hurrey

Zafra Lerman

Emily Lewis

Michael Meador

Barbara Moriarty

James Moran

Laura Pence

Amy Ripka

Peter Rusch

Joseph Sabol

Robert Sindelar

Jozef Stec

Hessy Taft

Jonathon Wilker

Matthew Windsor

Donald Wink

Heidi Vollmer-Snarr

Staff Liaison: Caroline Trupp Gil