ACS Committee on Chemistry & Public Affairs Saturday, August 15, 2020 12:00 – 2:00 pm (EDT) Formerly San Francisco, CA [VIRTUAL]

CCPA Members in Attendance: Kevin Kuhn (Chair), Luke Achenie, Alvin Bopp, Susan Butts, Eun-Woo Chang, Deborah Cook, Louise Criscenti, Jay Dias, Zafra Lerman, Emily Lewis, Michael Meador, James Moran, Barbara Moriarty, Laura Pence, Peter Rusch, Joseph Sabol, Robert Sindelar, Jozef Stec, Hessy Taft, Heidi Vollmer-Snarr, Stephanie Watson, Jonathan Wilker, Matthew Windsor, Donald Wink

CCPA Visitors: Jackie Erickson (CONC Liasion)

CCPA Staff Liaisons: Caroline Trupp Gil, Karen Garcia, Will Hartwig, Leila Duman, Ray Garant

Absent: Stephen Benn, Michael Hurrey, Amy Ripka

Chair's Report & Introductions

- CCPA Chair Kevin Kuhn called the CCPA meeting to order via Zoom at 12:02 pm ET. Kevin provided introductory and organizing remarks followed by introductions of the Committee members.
- Kevin thanked CCPA members Joe, Jozef, Don, Mick, and Heidi for their recent contributions to CCPA.
- Volunteers for new writing teams are sought among CCPA membership for the next round of policy reviews. More details will be distributed soon.

The Meeting Agenda was approved unanimously.

The minutes from the CCPA Spring 2020 meeting held virtually on March 21th, 2020 were approved unanimously.

Staff Reports

Will Hartwig, Karen Garcia, Leila Duman, and Caroline Trupp Gil provided updates on ACS External Affairs & Communications activity in legislative, agency, and member involvement areas, including:

- Legislative Updates: ACS 2020 Public Affairs agenda, new chair joined the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board, helium activities, FY21 budget and appropriations progress, COVID relief associated with the budget, RISE (Research Investment to Spark the Economy) Act, Chemistry Caucus.
- Member Engagement Updates: Act4Chemistry Network 11,813 members, 4 alerts and 2 newsletters sent since March, Online ACS Chemistry Advocacy Workshop went live – it sparked very good interest.
- Executive Branch Updates: helping chemists during COVID-19 response, nominations for Chair of the Chemical Safety Board and Director of NSF Chemistry Division, opportunities for chemists to serve in advisory capacities, celebration of the 70th anniversary of NSF, initiation of new collaborations via virtual meetings, the 2020-21 Public Policy fellows selection.

Policy Statement Writing Group Reports

CCPA members led two working groups tasked with updating the ACS policy statements. Don Wink led the writing group for the ACS Policy Statement on S&T Funding. Mick Hurrey and Jay Dias worked on the ACS Policy Statement on U.S. Business Climate.

The Committee approved a motion to recommend the draft Policy Statement on Business Climate for ACS Board approval.

The Committee approved a motion to recommend the draft policy statement on S&T Funding for ACS Board approval.

ACS Award for Public Service:

This award is given to an individual who meaningfully contributed to advancing the chemical sciences and enterprise. Two candidates were discussed as potential nominees for that award.

A motion to award the ACS Award for Public Service to U.S. Representative Daniel Lipinski (D-IL) did not carry.

Working Groups Reports

- Programming Joe Sabol updated members on an upcoming fall virtual meeting session on healthcare.
- ACS Fellows Nominations CCPA Chair Kevin Kuhn thanked Mick for leading the CCPA nomination this year. The 2020 CCPA nomination for ACS Fellow was unsuccessful.
- Chemluminary Award Jozef Stec informed CCPA that the 2020 winner was selected and would l be announced soon.
- Feedback request Heidi Vollmer-Snarr discussed CCPA's need for liaison relationships with other ACS committees
- Public Policy Fellowships Laura Pence provided overview of the process in 2020 which was held virtually for the first time.

Meeting Evaluation & Concluding Remarks

• CCPA will meet in September to hear about the ACS Public Policy Fellowships program.

The meeting adjourned at 1:58 pm EST.