2012 National Election | Candidate for President-Elect, 2013

Dr. Luis A. Echegoyen, Professor, University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso, TX

Video Campaign: https://vimeo.com/47820416

Personal Website: http://www.luis-echegoyen.org

Note: ACS is not responsible for the content of candidate’s personal websites and the opinions expressed may not represent the views of the ACS.

Candidate Biographical Information:

ECHEGOYEN, LUIS A. Rio Grande Valley Section. University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso, Texas.

Academic Record: University of Puerto Rico, B.S., 1971; Ph.D., 1974; Postdoctorate, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1975.

Honors: ACS Fellow, 2011; Herty Medal, Georgia Section, ACS, 2007; Florida Section, ACS, Award, 1996; IUPAC Fellow, 2009; Alumni Research Award, Clemson University, 2007; Clemson University, College of Engineering and Science Award for Faculty Achievement in the Sciences, 2004; American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow, 2003; Fogarty Senior International Fellow, 1990 and 1997; University of Miami Provost’s Scholarly Activity Award, 1997; Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, 1968.

Professional Positions (for past ten years): University of Texas at El Paso, Robert A. Welch Professor of Chemistry 2010 to date; Clemson University, Professor 2002-10, Professor and Chair, 2002-06; National Science Foundation, Director, Chemistry Division, 2006-10; University of Miami, Professor, 1983-2002.

Service in ACS National Offices: ComSci, 2005-08, Committee Associate, 2003-05.

Service in ACS Offices: Chicago Section: Gibbs Medal Jury, 2008-12.

Member: Member ACS since 1973. American Association for the Advancement of Science; Electrochemical Society.

Related Activities: Editor in Chief, Journal of Physical Organic Chemistry, 2011 to date; Union Carbide Corporation, Chemist I, 1975-77; University of Puerto Rico, RÍo Piedras Campus, Associate Professor, 1980-83; Assistant Professor, 1977-79; Program Officer in Chemistry Division-NSF, 1982-83; Member of Advisory Committee for Chemistry Division-NSF, 1986-89; Sabbatical at University Louis Pasteur with Professor Jean-Marie Lehn (as Fogarty Senior International Fellow), 1990; Sabbatical at Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich in Switzerland with Professor Francois Diederich (as Fogarty Senior International Fellow), 1997-98; Member of Mathematical and Physical Sciences (MPS) Advisory Committee of the NSF, 2003-06; Member, Committee on Equal Opportunity in Science and Engineering (CEOSE), NSF, 2003-06; Editorial Board, Journal of the Mexican Chemical Society (JMCS), 2005 to date; Editorial Board, Fullerenes, Nanotubes and Carbon Nanostructures, 2006 to date; Vice-Chair, Gordon Research Conference on “Physical Organic Chemistry”, 2009; Chair, Gordon Research Conference on “Physical Organic Chemistry”, 2011; Member of the Board of Trustees, Instituto MadrileÑo de Educación Avanzada (IMDEA) Nanociencias (Spain), 2008 to date; Member of the Governing Board of the Council for Chemical Research, 2008-10; Member of the International Advisory Board, Physical Chemistry of Solid Surfaces (PCOSS) Institute, Xiamen, China, 2009 to date; Distinguished Guest Professor, Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2009 to date; Member, Board of Directors, SACNAS, 2012 to date; Member, Advisory Board, MRSEC, UC-Santa Barbara, 2012 to date; Member, Advisory Board, PREM, UT-San Antonio-Northwestern, 2011 to date; published 301 journal articles, 42 book chapters; 330 invited lectures.

Candidate Statement:

To be posted in September 2012