DEIR AB Roster

Our members and liaisons include representatives from the ACS Diversity Committees and Subdivisions, partner societies, executive leaders at ACS, and other consultants as needed. We are involved in both strategy recommendations and supporting tactical execution, with the goal of seeing holistic engagement towards a more inclusive Society and scientific community. 

The members of the 2021 Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Respect Advisory Board are as follows:

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Respect Advisory Board (DEIR AB)

  • Dr. Natalie LaFranzo (2020-2022), Chair
  • Dr. Kishore Bagga (2021), Chair, Committee on Minority Affairs
  • Ms. Michelle Cummings (2021), Chair, Committee on Chemists with Disabilities
  • Dr. Amy Balija (2021), Chair, Women Chemists Committee
  • Dr. Kristin M. Nuzzio (2021), Chair, Younger Chemists Committee
  • Dr. Peter K. Dorhout (2021), Past President ACS, 2018
  • Dr. Emilio Xavier Esposito (2021), ConC DEIR Subcommittee
  • Dr. Michael Morris (2021) PROF (GTCA)
  • TBD - (2021), ACS Executive Vice-President

Liaisons from ACS Board of Directors

  • Dr. Dorothy J. Phillips (2021), P&MR Liaison to DEIR AB
  • Dr. Ingrid Montes (2021), ACS Board of Directors Liaison to DEIR AB
  • Dr. Carolyn Ribes (2021), ACS Board of Directors Liaison to DEIR AB

Liaisons and Consultants

  • Dr. Ann Kimble-Hill (2021), Consultant
  • Dr. Iris Wagstaff (2021), STEM Program Director, AAAS
  • Ms. Lisa Paz (2021), Senior Director of Engagement and Advocacy, AISES
  • Dr. Rena Robinson (2021), President, NOBCChE
  • Dr. Pamela Padilla (2021) President, SACNAS
  • Ms. Verlese Gaither (2021), K-12 Education
  • Dr. Jeannette E. Brown (2021), Consultant, SisterChemists LLC
  • Dr. Christopher J. Bannochie (2021), Out to Innovate (previously known as NOGLSTP)
  • Dr. Benjamin Fiore-Walker (2021) Portfolio Manager, ACS Diversity Programs
  • Mary Kirchhoff (2021) Executive Vice President of Scientific Advancement, ACS
  • Ms. Paula H. Christopher (2016-), Staff Liaison


  • AAAS: American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • AISES: American Indian Science and Engineering Society
  • ConC: Committee on Committees
  • NOBCCHE: National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers
  • NOGLSTP: National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals
  • PROF: Professional Relations
  • SACNAS: Society for Advancing Chicanos, Hispanics & Native Americans in Science

Interested in learning more about the different groups represented? Learn more about our diversity in chemistry community.