The ComSci Subcommittee on Awards prepares nominations for various national-level scientific awards, including the NSF sponsored National Medal of Science and the ACS Fellows Program.

National Medal of Science

The Committee on Science serves as the primary canvassing committee and advisory committee to the ACS Board of Directors on making ACS recommendations for the Presidential National Medal of Science. ComSci gained Board approval and submitted an ACS nomination on March 31, 2012 for this highest honor for U.S. scientists and engineers. The National Medal of Science is presented annually by the President as the Nation’s highest honor for US scientists and engineers.

ComSci's recommendation of a 2013 ACS nomination for the Presidential National Medal of Science was approved by the ACS Board of Directors and submitted to the White House in April.

Working with other relevant ACS units, the Awards Subcommittee seeks to identify and nominate chemists who have made outstanding contributions to the current state of chemistry-related knowledge. To date, 55 scientists have been awarded the National Medal of Science in chemistry.

ACS Fellows

The Awards Subcommittee also serves to nominate ComSci members and representatives as ACS Fellows. The ACS Fellows Program honors ACS members that have made outstanding contributions to both ACS and to chemical science – including engineering, education, and technology. Congratulations to ComSci members Michael Berman, Barry Streusand, and Dwight Chasar for their selection as part of the 2013 class of ACS Fellows announced on July 29, 2013.