Bylaws for Elections

The ACS Governing Documents (Bulletin 5) include language regarding elections. In particular, see Constitution Article VI (Officers), VII (Council), VIII, Sec. 5 (terms), and X (Manner of Election); and Bylaw IV, Sec. 6 (Terms of Office) and Bylaw V (Manner of Election).

Below are excerpts from the ACS Governing Documents, regarding the terms of office.

Article VI, Sec. 3

a. The President, the President-Elect, the Immediate Past President, and the Chair of the Board of Directors shall take office on January 1 and shall hold office for one year or until their successors qualify. (11/17/80)

b. The President-Elect shall succeed to the presidency at the expiration of the President’s term of office or to fill a vacancy in the office of President occurring during the term of office of the President-Elect. (11/18/91)

c. The Executive Director, the Secretary, and the Treasurer shall hold office until their successors qualify. (1/1/77)

Article VII, Sec. 5

a. The terms of office of Local Section and Division Councilors and Alternate Councilors shall be three years, except that a partial term of one or two years shall be used whenever necessary to establish or to restore rotation of three-year terms of Councilors and Alternate Councilors. (11/16/87)

Article VIII, Sec. 5.

a. The term of a District Director shall be three years. (1/1/01)

b. The term of a Director-at-Large shall be three years. (1/1/69)

c. No Director shall serve more than a total of three terms consecutively and after a third term shall not be eligible for reelection until a period of two years has elapsed. (1/1/72)