ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

Dipankar Das Sarma

Dipankar Das Sarma, popularly known as D.D. Sarma, is an Indian scientist and structural chemist, known for his researches in the fields of Solid-State Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Science, and Nanoscience. He is a former MLS Chair Professor of Physics and Founder-Chairman of the Centre for Advanced Materials, besides being a visiting Professor at Uppsala University, Sweden; École Polytechnique, France; The University of Tokyo, Japan; and University of Vienna, Austria. A recipient of TWAS Physics Prize and the UNESCO Biennial Javed Husain Prize, Sarma was honored by the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Government of India, in 1994, with the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology. He is an elected Fellow of all Indian Science and Engineering Academies as well as of American Physical Society.