ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

Patterson High School Chemistry Awards

Purpose: Originally established by Charles A. Thomas and Carroll A. Hochwalt, former Dayton chemists and Monsanto researchers, the top chemistry students in the area have been recognized since 1943. In 1990, the family of the late Austin M. Patterson, also a prominent Dayton chemist, assumed sponsorship. This is the longest continuously awarded High School Chemistry prize in the USA.

Eligibility: All High School Students within the Dayton Section are eligible. A standard exam is given and the top ten scorers are then invited to write an essay on how chemistry affects their lives. At a Dayton Section Meeting, the top three essayists are awarded $1000, $750, and $500 with the remaining essayists are awarded $100. The top scorers of the exam from each High School are presented with a plaque.

Contact Information:

Co-Chairs of the Dayton Section’s Patterson High School Chemistry Award:

Chair of the Dayton Section’s Education Committee: