Hillebrand Prize

Purpose: The Hillebrand Prize at is awarded annually for original contributions to the science of chemistry by a member or members of the Chemical Society of Washington. The Hillebrand Prize is the most prestigious honor given by CSW and is recognized nationally as a mark of significant accomplishment in chemistry. Many previous Hillebrand Prize winners have won numerous other national and international awards, including three that have received the Nobel Prize. The Hillebrand Prize originated in 1924 and is named for Dr. William F. Hillebrand (1853-1925), an internationally recognized pioneer in analytical chemistry and one of Washington’s most distinguished chemists.

Eligibility: The nominator and the nominee must be members of the Chemical Society of Washington, but this restriction does not apply to seconding letters.

Nominations: The nomination letter is limited to 1000 words. Two seconding letters are required, each limited to a maximum of 500 words, and the nomination package must also contain the nominee’s curriculum vitae, including a list of publications and other accomplishments, and a proposed citation of not more than 25 words. Nominations will be active for three years. The Prize will be presented at a CSW dinner meeting. The Prize carries an honorarium of $2000.

Contact Information:
Email: csw@acs.org
Website: Chemical Society of Washington