ACS Physical Chemistry Division Award in Theoretical Chemistry

Sponsor: PHYS Division; Telluride Schools on Theoretical Chemistry (TSTC)

Purpose: Recognize contributions in theoretical chemistry.

Nature: The recipient will receive a certificate and will be invited to the next Telluride School on Theoretical Chemistry (TSTC), which are held every other summer, starting in 2009.  At that meeting, he/she will present a plenary lecture and receive the Award. The TSTC will pay up to $1500 to cover travel, lodging, and meal expenses for the Award winner while at the TSTC. The recipient will be invited to present a second talk at the Fall National ACS meeting in the year of the award, where she/he will be recognized at the PHYS/JPC reception. Up to $1500 will be provided by the division to support the awardees expenses for attendance at the meeting.

Eligibility: Eligibility is restricted to Physical Chemistry Division Members who, at the time of the nomination, have not yet won a National Award from a scientific society that is based on the nominee’s scientific accomplishments. Fellows of the National Academy of Science are also ineligible, but fellowship in a professional society is not considered a National Award in this context. Current serving members of the PHYS Division Executive Committee including the officers of the subdivisions) are ineligible for nomination for this award until after their term of service.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Established in 2008

Contact Information