Joseph Breen Memorial Fellowship


ACS International Endowment Fund. The award is administered by the ACS Green Chemistry Institute®.


To sponsor a young international green chemistry scholar to participate in an international green chemistry technical meeting, conference or training program.


The amount of the award is based on the estimated cost of travel, accommodation, and fees associated with the event, up to $2000.


“Young” international scholar is defined as undergraduate students, graduate students, post doctoral fellows, and above, but below the level of Assistant Professor and within the first seven years of a professional career. Applicants residing within the U.S. or abroad are eligible for this award. The applicant must demonstrate research or educational interest in green chemistry.

Establishment & Support

The American Chemical Society (ACS) established the Joseph Breen Memorial Fund through the ACS International Endowment Fund in 2000. This fund commemorates Joe Breen’s commitment and accomplishments for the advancement of green chemistry.

Read more about Joe Breen, a founder of the worldwide green chemistry movement and the first Director of the Green Chemistry Institute.

2015 breen award winner
2015 Breen Award Winner, Lauran Grant, a chemistry student at the University of California, Berkeley, was selected for her efforts to incorporate green chemistry into her teaching of general chemistry courses and for her undergraduate research towards new methods of CO2 activation. Presented by David Constable, ACS GCI Director, at the 19th Annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference.
Peter Cutts Photography