Kenneth G. Hancock Memorial Award


The ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry and the National Institute of Standards & Technology. The award is administered by the ACS Green Chemistry Institute®.


The award provides national recognition and honor for outstanding student contributions to furthering the goals of green chemistry through research and/or studies. This includes but is not limited to the research, development, and implementation of fundamental and innovative chemical technologies that incorporate the principles of green chemistry into chemical design, manufacture, and use, and that have the potential to be utilized in achieving national pollution prevention goals.


The recipient of the award receives $1000. The award is presented in conjunction with the annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference which will be held June 14-16, 2016, in Portland, OR.


The award is open to undergraduate and graduate students, regardless of citizenship or country of study. Students who completed their degree prior to May 1 of the year before the application year are not eligible for the award.

Establishment & Support

To honor his contributions in the field of green chemistry, Dr. Hancock’s colleagues from academia, government, and industry established the Kenneth G. Hancock Memorial Student Award in Green Chemistry, offered under the auspices of the ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry. ACS President Dr. Paul Anderson announced the Hancock Memorial Award in June 1997 as an opportunity for undergraduate and graduate students to compete for a prestigious award in recognition of their studies and/or research in green chemistry. In 2006, the ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) expanded the award.

Read more about Kenneth Hancock, former Director of the Division of Chemistry at the National Science Foundation (NSF) and one of the earliest proponents of green chemistry, in the application document above.

2015 hancock winner
2015 Hancock Award Winner Leah Rubin-Shen, a graduate student at the University of California, Berkeley, was selected for her research on the “Use of Nitrogen Heterocycles as Virtual Hydrogen Storage Materials: An Electrochemical and Toxicological Study.” The study focused on reduction of hazardous materials, reversibility, and improved efficiency of fuel cell systems. Presented by Tom Connelly, ACS Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer.
Peter Cutts Photography
2015 hancock winner
2015 Hancock Winner, Alan Medina-Gonzalez, a rising senior at Augsburg College, was selected for his research on “Continuous Flow Chemistry for the Synthesis of Amides from Nitriles and Amines” through which a safer, more cost effective and efficient alternative synthesis of various amides was developed. Presented by Tom Connelly, ACS Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer
Peter Cutts Photography