Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards

The Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards (PGCCA), are annual awards that recognize outstanding chemical technologies which incorporate the principles of green chemistry into chemical design, manufacture, and use.

These prestigious awards are sponsored by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention in partnership with the American Chemical Society Green Chemistry Institute® and other members of the chemical community.


Nominations for the PGCCA 2017 awards are closed. View the Nomination Package for the 2017 Awards.

This June, the U.S. EPA expects to give five awards for outstanding green chemistry technologies in traditional categories and a sixth award for a green chemistry technology that addresses climate change.

The award areas include:

  • Greener Synthetic Pathways
  • Greener Reaction Conditions
  • The Design of Greener Chemicals
  • Small Business (for a technology in any of the three focus areas developed by a small business)
  • Academic (for a technology in any of the three focus areas developed by an academic researcher)
  • Specific Environmental Benefit: Climate Change (for a technology in any of the three focus areas that reduces greenhouse gas emissions)

Nominations are accepted from:

  • Individuals
  • Groups
  • Non-profit and for-profit organizations
  • Academia
  • Industry

The nominated green chemistry technology must have reached a significant milestone within the past five years in the United States (i.e., it must been researched, demonstrated, implemented, applied, patented, etc.).

Selection of the Recipients

An independent panel, selected by the American Chemical Society's Green Chemistry Institute, evaluates nominations for the awards.

The awards ceremony will take place on June 12, 2017 in conjunction with the 21st Annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference

PGCCA recipients receive national public recognition for their outstanding accomplishments in the research, development, and/or implementation of green chemical technologies.

Past Award Winners

Browse past award winners by: