What is the ACS Heroes of Chemistry Award?

Who are our heroes today? The media recognizes athletes and entertainers, as well as policemen and firefighters, as heroes. Chemistry has its heroes too; they are scientists and engineers who have made the world better through their effort, ingenuity, creativity and perseverance.  The life-saving treatments and conveniences of the modern world would not be possible without the materials, drugs, and other products of chemistry.

Heroes of Chemistry is an annual award sponsored by the American Chemical Society that recognizes talented industrial chemical scientists whose work has led to the development of successful commercialized products ingrained with chemistry for the benefit of humankind.

Heroes of Chemistry Logo

2017 Heroes of Chemistry Nominations

Nominations for the 2017 Heroes of Chemistry Awards are now being accepted.

For more information on the application process, please visit the Nominations Procedures page or email chemhero@acs.org.

2016 Heroes of Chemistry Recipients

Youtube ID: 1442cQAWh7o

GlaxoSmithKline and Shionogi – TIVICAY® (dolutegravir) for the treatment of HIV-1

Awardees: Brian Johns (GSK) and Takashi Kawasuji (Shionogi)

Youtube ID: nTvKaXDhNYQ

Honeywell UOP – Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™

Awardees: Chad Cavan, Ralph Davis, Donald Eizenga, Daniel Ellig, Stanley Frey, Tom Kalnes, Michael McCall, Hieu (Sunny) Nguyen, James Wexler, and Randall Williams


2016 Heroes Materials

Past Recipients

Youtube ID: -eNqd63k0cE

Honeywell – HFO-1234yf, a non-ozone-depleting and low-global-warming-potential hydrofluoro-olefin refrigerant for mobile air conditioning systems

Awardees: Nacer Achaichia, Amy Jones, Hang Pham, Robert Richard, Rajiv Singh, Harry Tung, Ron Vogl

Youtube ID: CDgn87RdwF8

Pfizer – IBRANCE® (palbociclib) for the treatment of metastatic breast cancer

Awardees: Mark Barvian, R. John Booth, Brian Chekal, Nga Do, Shengquan Duan, David Erdman, Nathan Ide, Kyle Leeman, Rong Li, Mark Maloney, Jade Nelson, John Quin, III, Joseph Repine, Derek Sheehan, Karen Sutherland, Peter Toogood, Scott VanderWel, Brian Weekley, Weili Yu, Hairong Zhou