ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

2014 Heroes of Chemistry

The American Chemical Society honors five scientists from Pfizer (formerly Wyeth) whose innovations have led to the discovery of Venlafaxine, commercialized by Pfizer under the brand name Effexor®, a novel treatment for treat major depressive disorder (MDD) - the first available in the class of serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs).

Youtube ID: hSpJIwpmepQ

In this video, Pfizer's (formerly Wyeth) Magid Abou-Gharbia, Terrance Andree, G.E. Morris Husbands, Eric A. Muth, and John Yardley were honored as 2014 ACS Heroes of Chemistry.

Heroes of Chemistry Logo

2015 Heroes of Chemistry Nominations

The American Chemical Society is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Heroes of Chemistry. The deadline for submissions is March 31, 2015. Please visit the Nominations Procedures page or email for further details.

The Pfizer Team

Image of Magid Abou-Gharbia

Magid Abou-Gharbia, formerly the  Senior Vice President & Head of Chemical &  Screening Sciences at Wyeth

Image of Eric Muth

Eric Muth, formerly the Director, CNS Pharmacology in Drug Discovery and Senior Director (Licensing) in Global Business Developmentat Wyeth

Image of Terrance Andree

Terrance Andree, formerly a Principal Research Scientist III and Pharmacology Discovery Team leader at Pfizer

Image of John Yardley

John Yardley, formerly the Senior Director in the Medicinal Chemistry group at Wyeth

Image of G.E. Morris Husbands

G.E. Morris Husbands, formerly a Principal Scientist in the Medicinal Chemistry group at Wyeth

Congratulations to the 2014 ACS Heroes from Pfizer!