ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

2014 Heroes of Chemistry

The American Chemical Society honors seven scientists from Bristol-Myers Squibb whose innovations have led to the discovery of Lomitapide (Juxtapid®), a novel inhibitor of microsomal triglyceride transfer protein (MTP), a treatment for a condition known as familial hypercholesterolemia (FH) which is an inherited, genetic disorder that leads to aggressive and premature cardiovascular disease. The drug was later in-licensed by Aegerion.

Youtube ID: KRE-8PmUaJE

In this video, Bristol-Myers Squibb's Scott Biller, John Dickson, Michael Lawrence, David Magnin, Michael Poss, Jeffrey Robl, and Joseph Tino were honored as 2014 ACS Heroes of Chemistry.

Heroes of Chemistry Logo

2015 Heroes of Chemistry Nominations

The American Chemical Society is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Heroes of Chemistry. The deadline for submissions is March 31, 2015. Please visit the Nominations Procedures page or email for further details.

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Team

Image of Scott Biller

Scott Biller, former Vice President, Pharmaceutical Candidate Optimization at
Bristol-Myers Squibb

Image of David Magnin

David Magnin, a former Senior Research
Investigator at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Image of Joseph Tino

Joseph Tino, a Senior Principal Scientist in Discovery Chemistry at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Image of John Dickson

John Dickson, former Group Leader at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Image of Michael Poss

Michael Poss, Director, Millamolecular Chemistry at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Image of Michael Lawrence

Michael Lawrence, a Director in Discovery
Chemistry at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Image of Jeff Robl

Jeff Robl, Executive Director of the Fibrosis Chemistry department at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Congratulations to the 2014 ACS Heroes from Bristol-Myers Squibb!