ACS Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology

Purpose: To encourage creativity in research and technology or methods of analysis to provide a scientific basis for informed environmental control decision-making processes, or to provide practical technologies that will reduce health risk factors.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry and the ACS Publications journal Environmental Science & Technology and Environmental Science & Technology Letters assumed sponsorship of the award in 2012. The ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry sponsored the award in 2011. Air Products and Chemical, Inc. established the award in 1978 and sponsored the award until 2010.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Douglas R. Worsnop

2016 Bruce E. Logan

2015 Paul B. Shepson

2014 Harold B. Dellinger

2013 Donald R. Blake

2012 Vicki H. Grassian

2011 Franåois Morel

2010 Kimberly A. Prather

2009 Margaret A. Tolbert

2008 Susan D. Richardson

2007 Richard C. Flagan

2006 RenÉ P. Schwarzenbach

2005 Akkihebbal R. Ravishankara

2004 Barbara J. Finlayson-Pitts

2003 John W. Birks

2002 Roger Atkinson

2001 Michael R. Hoffmann

2000 Radhakrishna M. Jayanty

1999 Terry F. Bidleman and James F. Pankow

1998 Mario J. Molina

1997 Charles E. Kolb

1996 Donald H. Stedman

1995 Donna L. Bedard

1994 Steven J. Eisenreich

1993 John H. Seinfeld

1992 Glen E. Gordon

1991 Ronald A. Hites

1990 David M. Golden

1989 James G. Anderson

1988 A. Welford Castleman, Jr.

1987 Joseph C. Arcos

1986 Eugene E. Kenaga

1985 Arthur Fontijn

1984 Julian Heicklen

1983 F. Sherwood Rowland

1982 Jack G. Calvert

1981 Philip W. West

1980 James J. Morgan

2016 recipient Bruce E. Logan (second to left) is presented his award by sponsor representatives, George P. Cobb (second to right), David Sedlak (right), and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).