ACS Award for Creative Invention

Purpose: To recognize a single inventor for the successful application of research in chemistry and/or chemical engineering that contributes to the material prosperity and happiness of people.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. A patent must have been granted for the work to be recognized, with the nominee listed as an inventor, and it will have been developed during the 17 years ending January 1, 2015. A copy of the patent must be submitted with the nominating documents.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: ACS Corporation Associates began sponsoring the award in 1975. The award was established in 1966 by the ACS Board of Directors through the efforts of the ACS Joint Board Council Committee on Patent Matters and Related Legislation.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Richard B. Silverman

2016 Antonio Facchetti

2015 Jotham W. Coe

2014 Marvin H. Caruthers

2013 Timothy M. Swager

2012 Chad A. Mirkin

2011 Jeffrey C. Bricker

2010 David Walt

2009 Robert H. Grubbs

2008 Adam Heller

2007 Bruce Ganem

2006 Alan Davison

2005 Joseph M. DeSimone

2004 Andrew J. Ouderkirk

2003 Bruce D. Roth

2002 Roger Y. Tsien

2001 John D. Baldeschwieler

2000 Tamotsu Imai

1999 Bruce D. Dorsey, James P. Guare, Jr., M. Katharine Holloway, Randall W. Hungate, and Joseph P. Vacca

1998 Spencer F. Silver

1997 Rangaswamy Srinivasan

1996 Lothar H. Brixner

1995 Marinus Los

1994 Howard W. Jacobson

1993 Albert A. Carr

1992 David W. Cushman and Miguel A. Ondetti

1991 Frederick J. Karol

1990 C. F. Hammer

1989 George Levitt

1988 Samuel Smith

1987 Robert M. Morin

1986 Alfred Marzocchi

1985 Ralph Milkovich

1984 Edwin P. Plueddemann

1983 O.A. Battista

1982 William S. Knowles

1981 Roy L. Pruett

1980 Stephanie L. Kwolek

1979 Leo H. Sternbach

1978 LeGrand G. Van Uitert

1977 Herman A. Bruson

1976 Manuel M. Baizer

1975 James D. Idol, Jr.

1974 Charles C. Price

1973 Carl Djerassi

1972 H. Tracy Hall

1971 S. Donald Stookey

1970 Gordon K. Teal

1969 J. Paul Hogan

1968 William G. Pfann

2016 recipient Antonio Facchetti (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Diane Grob Schmidt (right), and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).