ACS Award for Creative Work in Fluorine Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to the advancement of the chemistry of fluorine.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The award is presented in odd-numbered years at the Biennial Winter Fluorine Conference. The award is presented in even-numbered years during an ACS national meeting at which the ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry meets.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution or contributions to the field of fluorine chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The Juhua Group Technology Center China will sponsor the award in 2015 and 2016. The Division of Fluorine Chemistry will begin sponsorship in 2017. Honeywell sponsored the award in 2005, 2007, and 2009-2014. SynQuest Laboratories Inc. sponsored the award in 2004 and 2006 and supported the award in 2008. Clariant LSM (Florida) Inc. formerly Lancaster Synthesis, Inc. sponsored the award from 1991 to 2003. The award was established in 1971 by PCR, Inc., and was administered by the ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry until 1990.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2017 Antonio Togni

2016 Steven H. Strauss

2015 Véronique Gouverneur

2014 Teruo Umemoto

2013 Iwao Ojima

2012 David O'Hagan

2011 Alain Tressaud

2010 Russell P. Hughes

2009 Henry Selig

2008 Dennis P. Curran

2007 Kenji Uneyama

2006 Boris Žemva

2005 Shlomo Rozen

2004 Surya G.K. Prakash

2003 David A. Dixon

2002 David M. Lemal

2001 Leland C. Clark, Jr.

2000 William R. Dolbier, Jr.

1999 Herbert W. Roesky

1998 Gary J. Schrobilgen

1997 Richard J. Lagow

1996 Konrad Seppelt

1995 Paul R. Resnick

1994 Oskar Glemser

1993 Ronald E. Banks

1992 Neil Bartlett

1991 Richard D. Chambers

1990 J. Colin Tatlow

1989 Yoshiro Kobayashi

1988 Harry J. EmÉleus

1987 Carl G. Krespan

1986 Karl O. Christe

1985 David C. England

1984 Donald J. Burton

1983 Darryl D. DesMarteau

1982 William J. Middleton

1981 Ronald J. Gillespie

1980 John L. Margrave

1979 Wayne E. White

1978 Jean'ne M. Shreeve

1977 Charles B. Colburn

1976 Paul Tarrant

1975 Joseph D. Park

1974 William T. Miller

1973 Joseph H. Simons

1972 George H. Cady

2016 recipient Steven H. Strauss (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Kuiling Ding (right), and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).