ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of lnorganic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize individuals who advanced inorganic chemistry by significant service in addition to performance of outstanding research.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have demonstrated extensive contributions to the advancement of inorganic chemistry. Activities recognized by the award may include such fields as teaching, writing, research, and administration. The nominee must be an ACS member. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Strem Chemicals, Inc. assumed sponsorship of the award in 1998. Mallinckrodt, Inc. supported the award from 1965 to 1997. The award, established in 1963, was supported by funds provided by anonymous donors for the first two years.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Kenneth D. Karlin

2020: Bruce E. Bursten

2019: Debbie C. Crans

2018: Thomas B. Rauchfuss

2017: William B. Tolman

2016: Vincent L. Pecoraro

2015: Kim R. Dunbar

2014: T. Don Tilley

2013: Peter C. Ford

2012: Arnold L. Rheingold

2011: Charles P. Casey

2010: Richard D. Adams

2009: Alan H. Cowley

2008: Tobin J. Marks

2007: Robert J. Angelici

2006: Edward I. Solomon

2005: Thomas G. Spiro

2004: James H. Espenson

2003: Richard Eisenberg

2002: Thomas J. Meyer

2001: John P. Fackler, Jr.

2000: John D. Corbett

1999: Malcolm H. Chisholm

1998: Herbert D. Kaesz

1997: John E. Bercaw

1996: Dale W. Margerum

1995: Marcetta Y. Darensbourg

1994: Stephen J. Lippard

1993: Theodore L. Brown

1992: James A. Ibers

1991: James P. Collman

1990: Richard H. Holm

1989: Neil Bartlett

1988: M. Frederick Hawthorne

1987: Duward F. Shriver

1986: Jack Lewis

1985: Jack Halpren

1984: Harry B. Gray

1983: Norman Sutin

1982: Arthur W. Adamson

1981: Dietmar Seyferth

1980: Arthur E. Martell

1979: Earl L. Muetterties

1978: Harry J. Em√Čleus

1977: James L. Hoard

1976: Daryle H. Busch

1975: Fred Basolo

1974: F. Albert Cotton

1973: Ronald J. Gillespie

1972: John C. Bailar, Jr.

1971: Joseph Chatt

1970: Ralph G. Pearson

1969: Anton B. Burg

1968: William N. Lipscomb, Jr.

1967: Henry Taube

1966: George H. Cady

1965: Robert W. Parry

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Debbie C. Crans (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Ephraim S. Honig (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS