ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences

Purpose: To recognize significant accomplishments by individuals in stimulating students, underrepresented in the profession, to elect careers in the chemical sciences and engineering.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. A grant of $10,000 will be made to an academic institution, designated by the recipient, to strengthen its activities in meeting the objectives of the award. Up to $1,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: Nominees for the award may come from any professional setting: academia, industry, government, or other independent facility. The award is intended to recognize significant accomplishments in the United States by individuals in stimulating students, especially those currently underrepresented in the profession, to elect careers in the chemical sciences and engineering, and in generating a broader appreciation of chemistry as the central science. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc. established the award in 1993.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021: Elaine S. Yamaguchi

2020: Lawrence K. Duffy

2019: Edward C. Alexander

2018: Jani C. Ingram

2017: Saundra Y. McGuire

2016: Luis A. Colón

2015: Catherine H. Middlecamp

2014: Rigoberto Hernandez

2013: George H. Fisher

2012: Todd Pagano

2011: Wilfredo Colón

2010: Robert L. Lichter

2009: Shirley McBay

2008: Susan V. Olesik

2007: Robyn E. Hannigan

2006: Susan R. Fahrenholtz

2005: Jeannette E. Brown

2004: Zaida C. Morales-Martinez

2003: Isiah M. Warner

2002: James P. Shoffner

2001: Carlos G. Gutierrez

2000: Slayton A. Evans, Jr.

1999: Ajay K. Bose

1998: Zafra Lerman

1997: Billy Joe Evans

1996: Samuel P. Massie

1995: Henry C. McBay

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Edward C. Alexander (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative H. Scott Walter (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS