ACS Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences

Purpose: To recognize significant accomplishments by individuals who have stimulated or fostered the interest of women in chemistry, promoting their professional developments as chemists or chemical engineers.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. A grant of $10,000 will be made to an academic institution, designated by the recipient, to strengthen its activities in meeting the objectives of the award. Up to $1,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The Women Chemists Committee of the American Chemical Society will organize the award address.

Eligibility: Nominees for the award may come from any professional setting: academia, industry, government, or other independent facility. The award is intended to recognize significant accomplishments by individuals in stimulating women to elect careers in the chemical sciences and engineering, and in generating a broader appreciation of chemistry as the central science. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc. established the award in 1993.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Judith M. Iriarte-Gross

2016 Carol A. Fierke

2015 E. Ann Nalley

2014 Sandra C. Greer

2013 Heather C. Allen

2012 Yves J. Chabal

2011 Mamie W. Moy

2010 Mildred S. Dresselhaus

2009 Mary F. Singleton

2008 Esther M. Conwell

2007 Bojan H. Jennings

2006 Catherine H. Middlecamp

2005 Geraldine L. Richmond

2004 Margaret-Ann Armour

2003 Madeleine Jacobs

2002 Barbara A. Sawrey

2001 Christina Bodurow Erwin

2000 Valerie J. Kuck

1999 Jeanette Grasselli-Brown

1998 Madeleine M. JoulliÉ

1997 Mary E. Thompson

1996 Nina M. Roscher

1995 Margaret C. Cavanaugh

2016 recipient Carol A. Fierke (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative H. Scott Walter (right), and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).