ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to the science of analytical chemistry, pure or applied, carried out in the United States or Canada.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to analytical chemistry. Special consideration will be given to independence of thought and originality, or to the importance of the work when applied to public welfare, economics, or the needs and desires of humanity. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The Battelle Memorial Institute began sponsoring the award in 2004. The ACS sponsored the award in 2003. The Fisher Scientific Co. established the award in 1947 and continued sponsorship through 2002.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Héctor D. Abruña

2020 Mark E. Meyerhoff

2019 Milton L. Lee

2018 Michael Lawrence Gross

2017 Donald F. Hunt

2016 William R. Heineman

2015 John R. Yates III

2014 Jonathan V. Sweedler

2013 Isiah M. Warner

2012 Nicholas Winograd

2011 Christie G. Enke

2010 Richard P. Van Duyne

2009 Peter W. Carr

2008 Robert Mark Wightman

2007 James W. Jorgenson

2006 Milos V.Novotny

2005 Joel M. Harris

2004 Jeanne E. Pemberton

2003 Richard D. Smith

2002 Alan G. Marshall

2001 Klaus Biemann

2000 Walter C. McCrone

1999 Douglas A. Skoog

1998 Richard N. Zare

1997 R. Graham Cooks

1996 Gary D. Christian

1995 Harry L. Pardue

1994 Edward S. Yeung

1993 Jeanette G. Grasselli

1992 Larry R. Faulkner

1991 Royce W. Murray

1990 Barry L. Karger

1989 Fred C. Anson

1988 Fred E. Lytle

1987 Gary M. Hieftje

1986 David M. Hercules

1985 James S. Fritz

1984 Allen J. Bard

1983 Thomas L. Isenhour

1982 Ralph N. Adams

1981 Fred W. McLafferty

1980 J. Calvin Giddings

1979 Velmer A. Fassel

1978 Henry Freiser

1977 George G. Guilbault

1976 Howard V. Malmstadt

1975 Sidney Siggia

1974 Philip W. West

1973 James D. Winefordner

1972 W. Wayne Meinke

1971 George H. Morrison

1970 Charles V. Banks

1969 Roger G. Bates

1968 Lockhart B. Rogers

1967 Lawrence T. Hallet

1966 Lyman C. Craig

1965 Charles N. Reilley

1964 John Mitchell, Jr.

1963 David N. Hume

1962 H. A. Liebhafsky

1961 Herbert A. Laitinen

1960 Philip J. Elving

1959 James I. Hoffman

1958 James J. Lingane

1957 John H. Yoe

1956 Harvey Diehl

1955 Ernest H. Swift

1954 G. Frederick Smith

1953 Donald D. Van Slyke

1952 Melvin G. Mellon

1951 H. H. Willard

1950 Isaac M. Kolthoff

1949 G. E. F. Lundell

1948 N. Howell Furman

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Milton L. Lee (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Michelle V. Buchanan (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS