ACS Award in Chromatography

Sponsor: MilliporeSigma

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to the fields of chromatography.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to the fields of chromatography with particular consideration given to developments of new methods. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Sponsorship of the award was assumed by MilliporeSigma (formerly Sigma-Aldrich/Supelco) in 1970. A prior ACS Award in chromatography and electrophoresis sponsored by Lab-Line Instruments Inc. was established in 1959. No award was given in 1971.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 David S. Hage

2020 Lane C. Sander

2019 Gert Desmet

2018 Janusz Boleslaw Pawliszyn

2017 Robert T. Kennedy

2016 Harold M. McNair

2015 Milton T. W. Hearn

2014 Susan Olesik

2013 Paul R. Haddad

2012 Wolfgang F. Lindner

2011 Purnendu Dasgupta

2010 Udo A.T. Brinkman

2009 Nobuo Tanaka

2008 Frantisek Svec

2007 J. Michael Ramsey

2006 John G. Dorsey

2005 Patrick J.F. Sandra

2004 Shigeru Terabe

2003 William S. Hancock

2002 Edward S. Yeung

2001 Ernest Bayer

2000 Charles W. Gehrke

1999 Daniel W. Armstrong

1998 Georges Guiochon

1997 Peter W. Carr

1996 Stellan Hjerten

1995 Klaus K. Unger

1994 William H. Pirkle

1993 James W. Jorgenson

1992 Josef F. K. Huber

1991 Hamish Small

1990 John H. Knox

1989 Fred E. Regnier

1988 Milton L. Lee

1987 Charles H. Lochmuller

1986 Milos V. Novotny

1985 Leslie S. Ettre

1984 Lloyd R. Snyder

1983 Csaba G. HorvÁth

1982 Barry L. Karger

1981 Marcel J. E. Golay

1980 James E. Lovelock

1979 Evan C. Horning

1978 A. J. P. Martin

1977 Raymond P. W. Scott

1976 James S. Fritz

1975 Egon Stahl

1974 Lockhart B. Rogers

1973 Albert Zlatkis

1972 J. J. Kirkland

1970 Julian F. Johnson

1969 Morton Beroza

1968 Lewis G. Longsworth

1967 J. Calvin Giddings

1966 Kurt A. Kraus

1965 Stephen Dal Nogare

1964 Stanford Moore and William H. Stein

1963 Waldo E. Cohn

1962 L. Zechmeister

1961 Harold H. Strain

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Gert Desmet (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Leonard M. Sidisky (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS