ACS Award in Colloid Chemistry

Sponsor: Colgate-Palmolive Company

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding scientific contributions to colloid chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The nominee must have made outstanding scientific contributions to colloid chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Colgate-Palmolive Company began sponsorship in 2014. The Procter & Gamble Co. sponsored the award from 1994 to 2013. The award was established as the ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry in 1952 and supported until 1993 by the Kendall Co.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Emily A. Weiss

2020: Molly Stevens

2019: Naomi J. Halas

2018: Håkan Wennerström

2017: Nicholas A. Kotov

2016: Nicholas L. Abbott

2015: Paul S. Weiss

2014: Kenneth B. Eisenthal

2013: Steve Granick

2012: Robert J. Hamers

2011: Dennis C. Prieve

2010: Moungi G. Bawendi

2009: Jacob N. Israelachvili

2008: Lee R. White

2007: William B. Russel

2006: Alice P. Gast

2005: A. Paul Alivisatos

2004: Joseph A. Zasadzinski

2003: Clayton J. Radke

2002: Charles M. Knobler

2001: Charles T. Campbell

2000: Darsh T. Wasan

1999: Nicholas J. Turro

1998: Eric W. Kaler

1997: Harden M. McConnell

1996: T. G. M. van de Ven

1995: Thomas Engel

1994: J. Kerry Thomas

1993: D. Wayne Goodman

1992: David G. Whitten

1991: W. Henry Weinberg

1990: J. Michael White

1989: Arthur T. Hubbard

1988: Howard Brenner

1987: John T. Yates, Jr.

1986: Eli Ruckenstein

1985: Stig E. Friberg

1984: Brian E. Conway

1983: Janos H. Fendler

1982: Gert Ehrlich

1981: Gabor A. Somorjai

1980: Howard Reiss

1979: Arthur W. Adamson

1978: Harold A. Scheraga

1977: Michel Boudart

1976: Robert J. Good

1975: Robert Gomer

1974: W. Keith Hall

1973: Robert L. Burwell, Jr.

1972: Egon Matijevic

1971: Milton Kerker

1970: Jerome Vinograd

1969: Terrell L. Hill

1968: Albert C. Zettlemoyer

1967: Stanley G. Mason

1966: Robert S. Hansen

1965: George D. Halsey, Jr.

1964: Karol J. Mysels

1963: William Albert Zisman

1962: George Scatchard

1961: Stephen Brunauer

1960: John D. Ferry

1959: Floyd E. Bartell

1958: Paul H. Emmett

1957: Peter J. W. Debye

1956: Victor K. La Mer

1955: John W. Williams

1954: Harry N. Holmes

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Naomi J. Halas (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Long Pan (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS