ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage fundamental research in the field of inorganic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding research in the preparation, properties, reactions, or structure of inorganic substances. Special consideration will be given to independence of thought and originality. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review)

Establishment & Support: MilliporeSigma (a business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany), formerly Aldrich Chemical Company LLC, began sponsoring the award in 1998. Monsanto Co. sponsored the award from 1976 to 1997. The award was established in 1960 by Texas Instruments, Inc. No award was given in 1977.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Kristin Bowman-James

2020 Catherine J. Murphy

2019 George Christou

2018 James M. Mayer

2017 Lawrence Que, Jr.

2016 Mercouri G. Kanatzidis

2015 John T. Groves

2014 Guy Bertrand

2013 Daniel L. DuBois

2012 Clifford P. Kubiak

2011 Robert J. Cava

2010 Donald J. Darensbourg

2009 Daniel G. Nocera

2008 Kenneth N. Raymond

2007 Sheldon G. Shore

2006 Karl E. Wieghardt

2005 William J. Evans

2004 Herbert W. Roesky

2003 Karl O. Christe

2002 Thomas B. Rauchfuss

2001 Edward I. Solomon

2000 Edward I. Stiefel

1999 Richard D. Adams

1998 Brice Bosnich

1997 James L. Dye

1996 Richard R. Schrock

1995 Guido Pez

1994 Tobin J. Marks

1993 Gregory J. Kubas

1992 Walter G. Klemperer

1991 R. Bruce King

1990 Thomas J. Meyer

1989 Malcolm H. Chisholm

1988 Mark S. Wrighton

1987 Stephen J. Lippard

1986 John D. Corbett

1985 F. G. A. Stone

1984 Malcolm L. H. Green

1983 George W. Parshall

1982 Roald Hoffmann

1981 Henry Taube

1980 Alan M. Sargeson

1979 James A. Ibers

1978 Harry B. Gray

1976 Richard H. Holm

1975 James P. Collman

1974 Lawrence F. Dahl

1973 M. Frederick Hawthorne

1972 Theodore L. Brown

1971 Jack Lewis

1970 Neil Bartlett

1969 Russell S. Drago

1968 Jack Halpern

1967 John L. Margrave

1966 Geoffrey Wilkinson

1965 Earl L. Muetterties

1964 Fred Basolo

1963 Daryle H. Busch

1962 F. Albert Cotton

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient George Christou (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Almut Schoffers (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS