ACS Award in Pure Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage fundamental research in pure chemistry carried out in North America by young men and women.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have fewer than 10 years of experience since his/her terminal degree and must have accomplished research of unusual merit for an individual on the threshold of her or his career.  Special consideration is given to independence of thought and originality in the research, which must have been carried out in North America. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: In 1940, Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity assumed the financial obligation and has continued its support.The award was established in 1931 by A. C. Langmuir and was supported by A.C. and Irving Langmuir through 1937. In 1938, James Kendall financed the prize. No award was made in 1939.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Rebekka S. Klausen

2020 Corinna Schindler

2019 Danna Freedman

2018 Mircea Dinca

2017 Neal K. Devaraj

2016 Jonathan S. Owen

2015 Adam E. Cohen

2014 Sara E. Skrabalak

2013 Theodor Agapie

2012 Oleg V. Ozerov

2011 Melanie S. Sanford

2010 Phil S. Baran

2009 Garnet K.L. Chan

2008 Rustem F. Ismagilov

2007 Xiaowei Zhuang

2006 David R. Liu

2005 Peidong Yang

2004 Mei Hong

2003 Jillian M. Buriak

2002 Hongjie Dai

2001 Carolyn R. Bertozzi

2000 Chaitan Khosla

1999 Chad A. Mirkin

1998 Christopher C. Cummins

1997 Erick M. Carreira

1996 Ann E. McDermott

1995 M. Reza Ghadiri

1994 Gerard F. R. Parkin

1993 Jeremy M. Berg

1992 Charles M. Lieber

1991 Nathan S. Lewis

1990 Peter G. Schultz

1989 Stuart L. Schreiber

1988 Jacqueline K. Barton

1987 George McLendon

1986 Peter G. Wolynes

1985 Ben S. Freiser

1984 Eric Oldfield

1983 Michael J. Berry

1982 Stephen R. Leone

1981 Mark S. Wrighton

1980 John E. Bercaw

1979 Henry F. Schaefer III

1978 Jesse L. Beauchamp

1977 Barry M. Trost

1976 Karl F. Freed

1975 George M. Whitesides

1974 Nicholas J. Turro

1973 John I. Brauman

1972 Roy G. Gordon

1971 R. Bruce King

1970 Harry B. Gray

1969 Roald Hoffmann

1968 Orville L. Chapman

1967 John D. Baldeschwieler

1966 Ronald Breslow

1965 Dudley R. Herschbach

1964 Marshall Fixman

1963 Stuart A. Rice

1962 Harden M. McConnell

1961 Eugene E. van Tamelen

1960 Elias J. Corey

1959 Ernest M. Grunwald

1958 Carl Djerassi

1957 Gilbert J. Stork

1956 Paul M. Doty

1955 Paul Delahay

1954 John D. Roberts

1953 William von E. Doering

1952 Harrison S. Brown

1951 John C. Sheehan

1950 Verner Schomaker

1949 Richard T. Arnold

1948 Saul Winstein

1947 Glenn T. Seaborg

1946 Charles C. Price, III

1945 Frederick T. Wall

1944 Arthur C. Cope

1943 Kenneth S. Pitzer

1942 John Lawrence Oncley

1941 Karl A. Folkers

1940 Lawrence O. Brockway

1938 Paul D. Bartlett

1937 E. Bright Wilson, Jr.

1936 John Gamble Kirkwood

1935 Raymond M. Fuoss

1934 C. Frederick Koelsch

1933 Frank H. Spedding

1932 Oscar K. Rice

1931 Linus Pauling

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Danna E. Freedman (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Kip Nalley (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS