ACS Award in Separations Science and Technology

Purpose: To recognize the development of novel implementations of modern advancements in the field of separation science and technology with particular emphasis on industrial applications.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The recipient will deliver a lecture at the annual Division of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Separations Science and Technology Symposium.

Eligibility: The scope of the award is to be as broad as possible, covering all fields where separation science and technology is practiced, including but not limited to biology, chemistry, engineering, geology, and medicine. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: ACS will sponsor the award in 2021. Waters Corporation sponsored the award from 2008 to 2020. The ACS sponsored the award in 2004. No award was presented from 2005 to 2007. In 2003, IBC Advanced Technologies assumed sole sponsorship of the award. In 1996, IBC Advanced Technologies, Inc. and the Millipore Corp. assumed sponsorship. The award was established in 1982 by the Rohm and Haas Co. to recognize contributions of scientists and engineers working in separations science and technology.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 James W. Jorgenson

2020 Andrew L. Zydney

2019 Sheng Dai

2018: Massimo Morbidelli

2017: Rakesh Agrawal

2016: Steven M. Cramer

2015: Richard D. Noble

2014: Daniel W. Armstrong

2013: Fred E. Regnier

2012: Milton L. Lee

2011: Robin D. Rogers

2010: Janusz Pawliszyn

2009: Abraham M. Lenhoff

2008: Allan S. Myerson

2007: No award given

2006: No award given

2005: No award given

2004: William H. Pirkle

2003: Ralph T. Yang

2002: Edward L. Cussler

2001: Csaba G. HorvÁth

2000: E. Philip Horwitz

1999: Charles W. Gehrke

1998: Barry L. Karger

1997: C. Judson King

1996: Reed M. Izatt and Jerald S. Bradshaw

1995: Georges Belfort

1994: Phillip C. Wankat

1993: James R. Fair

1992: Milos V. Novotny

1991: Georges Guiochon

1990: Henry Freiser

1989: Jay M. S. Henis

1988: Norman N. Li

1987: Friedrich G. Helfferich

1986: J. Calvin Giddings

1985: Alan S. Michaels

1984: D. B. Broughton

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Sheng Dai (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Tammy Hicks (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS