ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials

Sponsor: DuPont

Purpose: To recognize and encourage creative work in the chemistry of materials.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to the chemistry of materials. Particular emphasis will be placed on research relating to materials of actual or potential technological importance, where a fundamental understanding of the chemistry associated with materials preparation, processing, or use is critical. Because much of the impact of research depends upon the extension of the work of others, some consideration should be given to the nominee's success as a mentor and colleague. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 1988 by E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co. to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the commercialization of nylon and the discovery of Teflon.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Yury Gogotsi

2020: David B. Mitzi

2019: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

2018: Elsa Reichmanis

2017: Douglas A. Keszler

2016: Jean-Luc E. Bredas

2015: Mark E. Thompson

2014: A. Paul Alivisatos

2013: Younan Xia

2012: Richard B. Kaner

2011: Debra R. Rolison

2010: Robert D. Miller

2009: Omar M. Yaghi

2008: Thomas E. Mallouk

2007: Robert S. Langer

2006: Stephen T. Wilson

2005: Louis E. Brus

2004: Charles M. Lieber

2003: Larry R. Dalton

2002: Galen D. Stucky

2001: Tobin J. Marks

2000: Joel S. Miller

1999: Alan G. MacDiarmid

1998: Robert J. Cava

1997: Arthur W. Sleight

1996: Fred Wudl

1995: George H. Beall

1994: Adam Heller

1993: Rustum Roy

1992: Harry R. Allcock

1991: C. Grant Willson

1990: Robert A. Laudise

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Krzysztof Matyjaszewski (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Teri Quinn Gray (right), ACS Board of Directors, and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS