Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry

Sponsor: Alfred R. Bader Fund

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to bioorganic or bioinorganic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted for outstanding research accomplishments regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. The award is intended to recognize significant accomplishments that are at the interface between biology and organic or inorganic chemistry. Special consideration will be given to applications of the fundamental principles and experimental methodology of chemistry to areas of biological significance.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 1986 with financial support by a gift to the Society from Alfred R. Bader.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Amy C. Rosenzweig

2020: Kevan M. Shokat

2019: Joan B. Broderick

2018: Alison Butler

2017: Kim D. Janda

2016: Edward I. Solomon

2015: Michael A. Marletta

2014: Laura L. Kiessling

2013: David E. Cane

2012: Brian M. Hoffman

2011: Stephen B. H. Kent

2010: Joan Selverstone Valentine

2009: Kevin M. Smith

2008: Lawrence Que, Jr.

2007: Eckard Munck

2006: F. Ann Walker

2005: Alan R. Fersht

2004: Stephen J. Lippard

2003: Christopher T. Walsh

2002: Ronald Breslow

2001: Peter G. Schultz

2000: Stuart L. Schreiber

1999: Peter B. Dervan

1998: JoAnne Stubbe

1997: James P. Collman

1996: John T. Groves

1995: Stephen J. Benkovic

1994: Kenneth N. Raymond

1993: W. Wallace Cleland

1992: Richard H. Holm

1991: Robert H. Abeles

1990: Harry B. Gray

1989: Jeremy R. Knowles

1988: Thomas C. Bruice

Back to List of Awards

Joan B. Broderick

2019 recipient Joan B. Broderick (center) is presented her award by sponsor representatives Joseph Porwoll (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS