ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

Charles Lathrop Parsons Award

Purpose: To recognize outstanding public service by a member of the ACS.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The award is not normally given more than once every two years. However, the ACS Board of Directors may, at its discretion, reduce the interval to one year for a nominee of its choosing if, in its judgment, circumstances in a given year warrant such action.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. A nominee must be a member of the ACS and a citizen of the United States, and must have performed outstanding public service. Neither the scientific reputation nor the record of scientific achievement of a member affects her or his eligibility for this award, which unlike most ACS awards is not directed toward recognition of scientific accomplishment or stature. The public service to be recognized may be performed either as a part of or completely outside the regular duties and activities of the nominee's employment. Current members of the ACS Board of Directors are ineligible to receive the award.

Selection of Recipient: Nominations will be solicited from individuals via the channels customary for other awards. Each nominee for the award will remain a nominee for three successive years without re-nomination, unless selected as the recipient. Prior to the ACS spring national meeting, the ACS Board of Directors will be provided with a comprehensive listing of all current nominees for this award. At the spring meeting, the ACS Committee on Professional and Member Relations (P&MR) will present to the ACS Board of Directors a screened list of no more than five nominees. Following the spring meeting, the full Board will be provided with complete nominations for all nominees on the screened list provided by P&MR. The ACS Board of Directors will select the recipient. The ACS Committee on Professional and Member Relations will recommend a time and place for the presentation of the award and the recipient's address depending upon the identity of the recipient and the public service to be honored.

Deadline: November 1 (Presented biennially in odd-numbered years.)

Establishment & Support: The ACS established the award in 1952.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2019 Attila E. Pavlath

2017 John I. Brauman

2015 Paul H. L. Walter

2013 Geraldine L. Richmond

2011 Michael E. Strem

2009 Glenn A. Crosby and Jane L. Crosby

2007 S. Allen Heininger

2005 Marye Anne Fox

2003 Zafra M. Lerman

2001 Richard N. Zare

1999 Mike McCormack

1995 Alfred Bader

1993 B. R. Stanerson

1991 Mary L. Good

1989 Arnold O. Beckman

1987 Norman Hackerman

1985 Franklin A. Long

1983 James G. Martin

1978 Charles G. Overberger

1976 William Oliver Baker

1974 Russell W. Peterson

1973 Charles C. Price

1970 W. Albert Noyes, Jr.

1967 Donald F. Hornig

1964 Glenn T. Seaborg

1961 George B. Kistiakowsky

1958 Roger Adams

1955 James B. Conant

1952 Charles L. Parsons

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Attila E. Pavlath (center) is presented his award by Wayne E. Jones, Jr., ACS Board of Directors (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS