E. B. Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding discoveries in the chemistry of medicinally active substances. The discovery for which the award is given should have been made during the last two decades.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years.

Eligibility: The award will be granted for outstanding discoveries and/or developments in the chemistry of medicinally active substances, regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (Presented biennially in odd-numbered years.)

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 1988 by Merck Research Laboratories (formerly Schering-Plough Research Institute) to honor the contributions of Emanuel B. Hershberg to the pharmaceutical industry, especially the application of organic chemistry for the discovery and development of novel drugs.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021: Edward Roberts

2019: Jeffery W. Kelly

2017: Stanley T. Crooke

2015: Ruth R. Wexler

2013: Bruce E. Maryanoff

2011: Richard B. Silverman

2009: Choung Un Kim

2007: John A. Katzenellenbogen

2005: Christopher A. Lipinski

2003: A.K. Ganguly

2001: Iwao Ojima

1999: John J. Baldwin

1997: Simon F. Campbell

1995: Paul S. Anderson

1993: Arthur A. Patchett

1991: George deStevens

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Jeffrey W. Kelly (center) is presented his award by sponsor representatives Amjad Ali (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS