E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy

Sponsor: ACS Division of Physical Chemistry (odd-numbered years) and E. Bright Wilson Endowment (even-numbered years)

Purpose: To recognize outstanding accomplishments in fundamental or applied spectroscopy in chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The recipient will deliver an award address at the spring awards symposium of the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. The scope of the award is to cover all fields of spectroscopy in chemistry, both fundamental and applied.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award will be endowed by the E. Bright Wilson Endowment in even years beginning with the 2018 presentation. The ACS Division of Physical Chemistry (PHYS) will sponsor the award in odd years beginning with the 2019 presentation. PHYS sponsored the award from 2012 to 2017. Coherent Inc. and the ACS sponsored the award in 2009, 2010 and 2011. The ACS sponsored the award in 2007 and 2008. The award was established in 1994 by the Rohm and Haas Co. and supported from 1997 to 2006.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Lai-Sheng Wang

2020: Angela M. Gronenborn

2019: Martin Moskovits

2018: Richard J. Saykally

2017: David J. Nesbitt

2016: Robert G. Griffin

2015: R. J. Dwayne Miller

2014: Richard P. Van Duyne

2013: Steven G. Boxer

2012: Robert W. Field

2011: Veronica Vaida

2010: George W. Flynn

2009: Paul F. Barbara

2008: Jack H. Freed

2007: Michael D. Fayer

2006: Donald H. Levy

2005: Eizi Hirota

2004: James K.G. Watson

2003: Marilyn E. Jacox

2002: Takeshi Oka

2001: William A. Klemperer

2000: Ad Bax

1999: Richard N. Zare

1998: Robin M. Hochstrasser

1997: Ahmed Zewail

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Martin Moskovits (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Anne B. McCoy (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS