Earle B. Barnes Award for Leadership in Chemical Research Management

Purpose: To recognize outstanding achievements in chemical research management.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award is intended to recognize individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and creativity in promoting the sciences of chemistry and chemical engineering in research management. Nominees should have demonstrated success in research management by exhibiting the proven ability to manage research projects and people. This leadership and creativity must have been demonstrated by a record of successful research projects and by a strong motivation of the researchers on those projects. Recognition of these accomplishments by peers is essential. Nominees should be industrial or government employees who are responsible for making decisions on R&D project selection, resource allocation, budgets, staffing, etc. and for being accountable for the results of these decisions. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The Dow Chemical Company Foundation established the award in 1982.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Laurie E. Locascio

2016 Henry E. Bryndza

2015 Christopher P. Austin

2014 William F. Banholzer

2013 Alan D. Palkowitz

2012 Ben A. Christolini

2011 Uma Chowdhry

2010 John L. LaMattina

2009 Gregg A. Zank

2008 No award given

2007 Frank J. Williams

2006 Richard D. DiMarchi

2005 Cynthia A. Maryanoff

2004 James A. Bristol

2003 Paul J. Reider

2002 Kurt W. Swogger

2001 Magid Abou-Gharbia

2000 George A. Samara

1999 Gordon F. Brunner

1998 Joseph A. Miller

1997 David A. Duke

1996 Mary L. Good

1995 Leo Manzer

1994 Jerry A. Cogan, Jr.

1993 William D. Emmons

1992 D. W. McCall

1991 Lester C. Krogh

1990 John R. Thomas

1989 George W. Parshall

1988 William P. Slichter

1986 Robert M. Adams

1987 Malcolm E. Pruit

1985 H. W. Coover

1984 James F. Mathis

2016 recipient Henry E. Bryndza (center) is presented his award by Andre Argenton (right), sponsor representative, and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).