Ernest Guenther Award in the Chemistry of Natural Products

Sponsor: Givaudan

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in the analysis, structure elucidation, and chemical synthesis of natural products.

Nature: The award consists of $6,000, a medallion, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding work in the analysis, structure elucidation, and chemical synthesis of natural products. Special consideration will be given to the independence of thought and originality. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Givaudan has supported the award since 1992. Givaudan acquired Fritzsche Dodge and Olcott in 1990. The award was established in 1948 by Fritzsche Dodge and Olcott Inc., in commemoration of the 75th anniversary of the founding of the company.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Bradley S. Moore

2020 Tadeusz F. Molinski

2019 Iwao Ojima

2018 David Ransom Williams

2017 Stephen F. Martin

2016 Eric Block

2015 Thomas R. Hoye

2014 Dennis P. Curran

2013 Kuniaki Tatsuta

2012 Stephen Hanessian

2011 Robert M. Williams

2010 Michael T. Crimmins

2009 Peter Wipf

2008 David G.I. Kingston

2007 Dale L. Boger

2006 William H. Fenical

2005 Satoshi Omura

2004 William R. Roush

2003 Steven V. Ley

2002 John W. Daly

2001 Yoshito Kishi

2000 Pierre Potier

1999 Kenji Mori

1998 G. Robert Pettit

1997 Kenneth L. Rinehart

1996 K. C. Nicolaou

1995 Jon C. Clardy

1994 Paul J. Scheuer

1993 Amos B. Smith, III

1992 Leo A. Paquette

1991 C. Dale Poulter

1990 Barry M. Trost

1989 Henry Rapoport

1988 Paul A. Wender

1987 Wolfgang Oppolzer

1986 Clayton H. Heathcock

1985 David E. Cane

1984 Jerrold Meinwald

1983 Karel Wiesner

1982 Paul A. Grieco

1981 Samuel J. Danishefsky

1980 Sukh Dev

1979 James A. Marshall

1978 Koji Nakanishi

1977 Robert E. Ireland

1976 A. Ian Scott

1975 S. Morris Kupchan

1974 Gunther Ohloff

1973 William G. Dauben

1972 Guy Ourisson

1971 Ernest Wenkert

1970 Duilio Arigoni

1969 John W. Cornforth

1968 Elias J. Corey

1967 George A. Sim

1966 Albert J. Eschenmoser

1965 Konrad E. Bloch

1964 Oscar Jeger

1963 Arthur J. Birch

1962 E. R. H. Jones

1961 C. F. Seidel

1960 Carl Djerassi

1959 Frantisek Sorm

1958 George H. Buchi

1957 Sir Derek H. R. Barton

1956 Herman Pines

1955 Hans Schinz

1954 A. R. Penfold

1953 Max Stoll

1952 Yves-Rene Naves

1951 Edgar Lederer

1950 A. J. Haagen-Smit

1949 John L. Simonsen

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Iwao Ojima (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Ioana Ungureanu (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS