F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry

Sponsor: The F. Albert Cotton Endowment Fund

Purpose: To recognize distinguished work in synthetic inorganic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award recognizes outstanding synthetic accomplishment in the field of inorganic chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. Creativity and imagination will be especially valued.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established by the ACS Board of Directors in 2002. It is supported by the F. Albert Cotton Endowment Fund, which was funded by F. Albert Cotton.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2017 Pingyun Feng

2016 François P. Gabbaï

2015 Jaqueline L. Kiplinger

2014 Larry G. Sneddon

2013 Gregory H. Robinson

2012 Christopher A. Reed

2011 Alan L. Balch

2010 Lawrence F. Dahl

2009 Kenneth D. Karlin

2008 John D. Corbett

2007 Christopher C. Cummins

2006 Richard R. Schrock

2005 Philip P. Power

2004 John E. Ellis

2016 recipient François P. Gabbaï (center) is presented his award by John E. Adams, ACS Board of Director (right), and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).