Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis

Sponsor: Gabor A. and Judith K. Somorjai Endowment Fund

Purpose: To recognize outstanding theoretical, experimental, or developmental research resulting in the advancement of understanding or application of catalysis.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. U.S. residents will be given preference. Outstanding contributions to catalysis in any discipline will be considered.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established by the ACS Board of Directors in 2002. It is supported by the Gabor A. and Judith K. Somorjai Endowment Fund. A prior ACS Award for Creative Research in Homogenous or Heterogeneous Catalysis sponsored by the Shell Oil Foundation was established in 1997.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 John E. Bercaw

2016 Donna G. Blackmond

2015 Maurice Brookhart

2014 Mark E. Davis

2013 Tobin J. Marks

2012 Enrique Iglesia

2011 Harold H. Kung

2010 Robert J. Madix

2009 Jens K. Nørskov

2008 Avelino Corma Canos

2007 Hans-Joachim Freund

2006 James A. Dumesic

2005 D. Wayne Goodman

2004 Bruce C. Gates

2003 Robert H. Grubbs

2002 Jack H. Lunsford

2001 Alexis T. Bell

2000 Gabor A. Somorjai

1999 Sir John Meurig Thomas

2016 recipient Donna G. Blackmond (center) is presented her award by award sponsor Gabor A. Somorjai (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).