George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry

Sponsor: George A. Olah Award Endowment

Purpose: To recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding research achievements in hydrocarbon or petroleum chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. A nominee must be a resident of the United States or Canada and have accomplished outstanding research in the chemistry of hydrocarbons or petroleum and its products. Special consideration will be given to independence of thought and originality.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Since 1997, the award, under the above title, has been supported through a fund initially created by donations from the Morris S. Smith Foundation and the Dow Chemical Co. No awards were presented in 1974 and 1975. The Amoco Foundation sponsored the award from 1986 to 1994. The Lubrizol Corp. sponsored the award from 1976 to 1985. The award was established in 1948 as the ACS Award in Petroleum Chemistry and was sponsored by the Precision Scientific Co. until 1973.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Robert H. Grubbs

2016 Mieczyslaw M. Boduszynski

2015 Jingguang G. Chen

2014 Robert G. Bergman

2013 Alexis T. Bell

2012 James A. Dumesic

2011 Lawrence T. Scott

2010 Peter C. Stair

2009 Cynthia M. Friend

2008 Israel E. Wachs

2007 Bruce E. Koel

2006 G.K. Surya Prakash

2005 Enrique Iglesia

2004 Michael Siskin

2003 Peter J. Stang

2002 Gary B. McVicker

2001 Francisco Zaera

2000 James F. Haw

1999 John E. Bercaw

1998 Arthur R. Goldsby

1997 Roby Bearden, Jr.

1996 Jack H. Lunsford

1995 John M. Prausnitz

1994 Teh Fu Yen

1993 Bruce C. Gates

1992 Wolfgang M. H. Sachtler

1991 David M. Grant

1990 Robert K. Grasselli

1989 Thomas Aczel

1988 Werner O. Haag

1987 W. Keith Hall

1986 Frederick G. Bordwell

1985 Edward M. Arnett

1984 Cheves Walling

1983 Robert L. Burwell, Jr.

1982 Irving Wender

1981 Herman Pines

1980 William A. Pryor

1979 Robert L. Banks

1978 Ellis K. Fields

1977 Sidney W. Benson

1976 John H. Sinfelt

1973 Joe W. Hightower

1972 Paul G. Gassman

1971 Gerasimos J. Karabatsos

1970 Lloyd R. Snyder

1969 Alan Schriesheim

1968 Keith U. Ingold

1967 Andrew Streitwieser, Jr.

1966 James Wei

1965 Glen A. Russell

1964 George A. Olah

1963 John P. McCullough

1962 Harold Hart

1961 George S. Hammond

1960 Robert W. Taft, Jr.

1959 George C. Pimentel

1958 Robert P. Eischens

1957 C. Gardner Swain

1956 Milburn J. O'Neal, Jr.

1955 Frank Ciapetta

1954 Arthur P. Lien

1953 Robert W. Schiessler

1952 Vladimir Haensel

1951 Louis Schmerling

1950 Kenneth S. Pitzer

1949 Bruce H. Sage

2016 recipient Mieczyslaw M. Boduszynski (center) is presented his award by Lee H. Latimer, ACS Board of Director (right), and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).