George C. Pimentel Award in Chemical Education

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to chemical education.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to chemical education considered in its broadest meaning, including the training of professional chemists; the dissemination of reliable information about chemistry to prospective chemists, members of the profession, students in other fields, and the general public; and the integration of chemistry into our educational system. The activities recognized by the award may be in the fields of teaching (at any level), organization and administration, influential writing, educational research, the methodology of instruction, the establishment of standards of instruction, and public enlightenment. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ACS Division of Chemical Education began co-sponsoring the award with Cengage Learning in 2015.   Cengage Learning and friends and colleagues of George and Jeanne Pimentel sponsorsed the award from 2012-2014. Cengage Learning and the American Chemical Society co-sponsored the award in 2010 and 2011. Cengage Learning and the ACS Division of Chemical Education co-sponsored the award in 2009. Rohm and Haas Company sponsored the award in 2007 and 2008. From 2001 to 2006, the Dow Chemical Co. Inc. continued sponsoring the award upon its merger with Union Carbide Corp. (1978 - 2000). The award was established as the ACS Award in Chemical Education in 1950 by Scientific Apparatus Makers Association and financed by its Laboratory Apparatus and Optical Sections through 1976. The ACS Board of Directors voted for ACS sponsorship of the award in 1977 and 2002.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Dudley Shallcross

2020 Thomas J. Wenzel

2019 Catherine H. Middlecamp

2018 Pratibha Varma-Nelson

2017 Thomas A. Holme

2016 Richard S. Moog

2015 I. Dwaine Eubanks

2014 Thomas J. Greenbowe

2013 Conrad L. Stanitski

2012 Diane M. Bunce

2011 William R. Robinson

2010 Zafra J. Margolin Lerman

2009 Henry W. Heikkinen

2008 Richard N. Zare

2007 A. Truman Schwartz

2006 F. Albert Cotton

2005 James N. Spencer

2004 Nicholas J. Turro

2003 George M. Bodner

2002 Michael P. Doyle

2001 Harry B. Gray

2000 Jerry A. Bell

1999 Mary Virginia Orna

1998 Stanley G. Smith

1997 Arthur B. Ellis

1996 Roald Hoffmann

1995 Ernest L. Eliel

1994 Glenn T. Seaborg

1993 George B. Kauffman

1992 Fred Basolo

1991 John W. Moore

1990 George C. Pimentel

1989 Joseph J. Lagowski

1988 Marjorie H. Gardner

1987 Linus Pauling

1986 Bassam Z. Shakhashiri

1985 Glenn A. Crosby

1984 Arthur W. Adamson

1983 Michell J. Sienko

1982 Anna J. Harrison

1981 Derek A. Davenport

1980 Henry A. Bent

1979 Gilbert P. Haight, Jr.

1978 Lloyd N. Ferguson

1977 Robert W. Parry

1976 Leallyn B. Clapp

1975 William T. Lippincott

1974 George S. Hammond

1973 Robert C. Brasted

1972 J. Arthur Campbell

1971 Laurence E. Strong

1970 Hubert N. Alyea

1969 L. Carroll King

1968 William F. Kieffer

1967 Louis F. Fieser

1966 W. Conway Pierce

1965 Theodore A. Ashford

1964 Alfred B. Garrett

1963 Edward L. Haenisch

1962 William G. Young

1961 John C. Bailar, Jr.

1960 Arthur F. Scott

1959 Harry F. Lewis

1958 Frank E. Brown

1957 Norris W. Rakestraw

1956 Otto M. Smith

1955 Gerrit Van Zyl

1954 Raymond E. Kirk

1953 Howard J. Lucas

1952 Joel H. Hildebrand

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Catherine Middlecamp (second to left) is presented her award by sponsor representatives, Irvin J. Levy (second to right), Maureen McLaughlin (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS