ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

Glenn T. Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage research in nuclear and radiochemistry or their applications.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to nuclear or radiochemistry or to their applications. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology began sponsoring the award in 2004. ACS sponsored the award in 2002 and 2003. The Gordon and Breach Publishing Group sponsored the award from 1996 to 2001. As the ACS Award for Nuclear Chemistry, it was supported by funds from a gift to the Society by an anonymous donor during 1990 to 1991 and in odd-numbered years from 1980 to 1985. In the intervening even-numbered years, it was sponsored by EG&G ORTEC. Sponsorship was assumed by Amersham Corp. from 1986 to 1989. The Nuclear-Chicago Corp. a subsidiary of G. D. Searle and Co. established a predecessor award, the ACS Award for Nuclear Applications in Chemistry, in 1953.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Sherry J. Yennello

2020: Sue Brannon Clark

2019: Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt

2018: Suresh C. Srivastava

2017: David L. Clark

2016: E. (Earl) Philip Horwitz

2015: Heino Nitsche

2014: Walter Loveland

2013: Richard G. Haire

2012: Silvia S. Jurisson

2011: David J. Morrissey

2010: Lee G. Sobotka

2009: Kenton J. Moody

2008: Romualdo T. deSouza

2007: Norbert G. Trautmann

2006: Steven W. Yates

2005: Luciano G. Moretto

2004: Donald G. Fleming

2003: Demetrios G. Sarantites

2002: Joanna S. Fowler

2001: William B. Walters

2000: Richard L. Hahn

1999: Karl-Ludwig Kratz

1998: Raymond K. Sheline

1997: Peter J. Armbruster

1996: William D. Ehmann

1995: Joseph B. Natowitz

1994: E. Kenneth Hulet

1993: Richard M. Diamond

1992: Robert N. Clayton

1991: John M. Alexander

1990: Michael J. Welch

1989: Ronald D. Macfarlane

1988: Guenter Herrmann

1987: Ellis P. Steinberg

1986: Victor E. Viola

1985: Gregory R. Choppin

1984: Joseph Cerny

1983: Darleane C. Hoffman

1982: Leo Yaffe

1981: Robert Vandenbosch

1980: Arthur M. Poskanzer

1979: Raymond Davis, Jr.

1978: Paul K. Kuroda

1977: Glen E. Gordon

1976: John O. Rasmussen

1975: John R. Huizenga

1974: Lawrence E. Glendenin

1973: Albert Ghiorso

1972: Anthony Turkevich

1971: Alfred P. Wolf

1970: Paul R. Fields

1969: George E. Boyd

1968: Richard L. Wolfgang

1967: Gerhart Friedlander

1966: Arthur C. Wahl

1965: Stanley G. Thompson

1964: Isadore Perlman

1963: Martin D. Kamen

1962: Truman P. Kohman

1961: Joseph J. Katz

1960: Charles D. Coryell

1959: John E. Willard

1958: Jacob Bigeleisen

1957: Melvin Calvin

1956: Willard F. Libby

1955: Henry Taube

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Jenifer Shafer (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS