Herbert C. Brown Award for Creative Research in Synthetic Methods

Sponsor: The Purdue Borane Research Fund and the Herbert C. Brown Award Endowment

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding and creative contributions to research in synthetic methods.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding and creative research that involved the discovery and development of novel and useful methods for chemical synthesis. The synthetic method that is the basis for the award may be related to any area of chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Gifts from the Purdue Borane Research Fund to the Herbert C. Brown Award Endowment have supported the award since 2003. The award was established in 1997 and was sponsored by the Aldrich Chemical Company, LLC, through 2002.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202- 872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Mark Lautens

2020: Amir H. Hoveyda

2019: Huw M. L. Davies 

2018: Gregory C. Fu

2017: Bruce H. Lipshutz

2016: Alois F├╝rstner

2015: Gary A. Molander

2014: Paul Knochel

2013: John F. Hartwig

2012: Jonathan A. Ellman

2011: Akira Suzuki

2010: Larry E. Overman

2009: Scott E. Denmark

2008: Eric N. Jacobsen

2007: David A. Evans

2006: Richard F. Heck

2005: Gilbert Stork

2004: Edwin Vedejs

2003: Paul A. Wender

2002: Clayton H. Heathcock

2001: Robert H. Grubbs

2000: Samuel J. Danishefsky

1999: Barry M. Trost

1998: Herbert C. Brown

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Huw M. L. Davies (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, P. V. Ramachandran (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS