Ipatieff Prize

Sponsor: The Ipatieff Trust Fund

Purpose: To recognize outstanding chemical experimental work in the field of catalysis or high pressure, carried out by an individual of any nationality who is not over 40 years of age.

Nature: The award will consist of the income from a trust fund and a certificate. The financial value of the prize may vary, but it is expected that it will be approximately $5,000 and that it will be awarded every three years. Travel expenses related to conferment of the award will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must not have passed his or her 40th birthday on April 30 of the year in which the award is presented, and will have done outstanding chemical experimental work in the field of catalysis or high pressure. If experimental investigations in these fields have been abandoned to such a degree that no outstanding results have been achieved, then the award may be given for highly meritorious work in a closely allied field of chemistry. Special weight will be given to independence of thought and originality. The award may be made for investigations carried out in any country and without consideration of nationality. Preference will be given to American chemists. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (triennial review)

Establishment & Support: In 1943, the ACS Board of Directors accepted responsibility for administering an award created by a trust agreement between Vladimir N. and Barbara Ipatieff and Northwestern University, establishing the Ipatieff Trust Fund. Northwestern University is the trustee.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2019 Ive Hermans

2016 Aditya Bhan

2013 Melanie S. Sanford

2010 Christopher W. Jones

2004 Raul F. Lobo

2001 Joan F. Brennecke

1998 Andrew J. Gellman

1995 Mark Barteau

1992 Mark E. Davis

1989 Alexander M. Klibanov

1986 Robert M. Hazen

1983 D. Wayne Goodman

1980 Denis Forster

1977 Charles A. Eckert

1974 George A. Samara

1971 Paul B. Venuto

1968 Charles R. Adams

1965 Robert H. Wentorf, Jr.

1962 Charles Kemball

1959 Cedomir M. Sliepcevich

1956 Harry G. Drickamer

1953 Robert B. Anderson

1950 Herman E. Ries

1947 Louis Schmerling

2019 recipient Ive Hermans (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Tobin J. Marks (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS