Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry

Sponsor: DuPont

Purpose: To encourage and reward outstanding research in physical chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding research of a theoretical or experimental nature in the field of physical chemistry. Because much of the impact of research depends upon the extension of the work by others, some consideration should be given to the nominee's success as a mentor and colleague. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review)

Establishment & Support: The award has been sponsored by DuPont since 1979. From 1970 to 1976 the award was sponsored by the Exxon Chemical Co. U.S.A. No awards were presented from 1977 to 1980. The Humble Oil and Refining Co. established the award in 1960.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021      Michael David Fayer

2020      Laura Gagliardi        

2019       Daniel M. Neumark

2018       Paras Nath Prasad

2017       Bruce J. Berne

2016       Mark A. Ratner

2015       Xiaoliang Sunney Xie

2014       Henry F. Schaefer III

2013       William E. Moerner

2012       David Chandler

2011       Louis E. Brus

2010       George Schatz

2009       Richard J. Saykally

2008       Michael L. Klein

2007       John T. Yates

2006       Donald G.Truhlar

2005       Stephen R. Leone

2004       William Carl Lineberger

2003       William H. Miller

2002       Giacinto Scoles

2001       John Ross

2000       Peter G. Wolynes

1999       Jesse L. Beauchamp

1998       Graham R. Fleming

1997       Robin M. Hochstrasser

1996       Ahmed Zewail

1995       John C. Tully

1994       William A. Klemperer

1993       F. Sherwood Rowland

1992       Frank H. Stillinger

1991       Richard N. Zare

1990       Harden M. McConnell

1989       Gabor A. Somorjai

1988       Rudolph A. Marcus

1987       Harry G. Drickamer

1986       Yuan T. Lee

1985       Stuart A. Rice

1984       B.S. Rabinovitch

1983       George C. Pimentel

1982       Peter M. Rentzepis

1981       Richard B. Bernstein

1976       Robert W. Zwanzig

1975       H.S. Gutowsky

1974       Walter H. Stockmayer

1973       William N. Lipscomb, Jr.

1972       Clyde A. Hutchison, Jr.

1971       Norman Davidson

1970       Oscar K. Rice

1969       Paul J. Flory

1968       George B. Kistiakowsky

1967       Joseph E. Mayer

1966       Joseph O. Hirschfelder

1965       Lars Onsager

1964       Henry Eyring

1963       Rober S. Mulliken

1962       E. Bright Wilson, Jr.

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Daniel M. Neumark (center), accepted his award presented by sponsor representative, William D. Provine (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS