Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to research in organic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of a medallion and a replica, a certificate, and $25,000. The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years at the ACS national meeting. The recipient will deliver a lecture at the Biennial National Organic Chemistry Symposium of the ACS National Meeting and Symposium. Travel expenses to the symposium will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (Presented biennially in odd-numbered years.)

Establishment & Support: Established in 1959 by Organic Syntheses, Inc. and Organic Reactions, Inc. Sponsored by Organic Syntheses, Organic Reactions, and the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Kendall N. Houk

2019 Stephen L. Buchwald

2017: Hisashi Yamamoto

2015: Larry E. Overman

2013: David A. Evans

2011: Robert H. Grubbs

2009: Andrew Streitwieser

2007: Samuel J. Danishefsky

2005: Jerrold Meinwald

2003: Albert Eschenmoser

2001: Ryoji Noyori

1999: Dieter Seebach

1997: K. Barry Sharpless

1995: Barry M. Trost

1993: Elias J. Corey

1991: Gilbert J. Stork

1989: George A. Olah

1987: Jerome A. Berson

1985: Donald J. Cram

1983: A. R. Battersby

1981: Nelson J. Leonard

1979: Melvin S. Newman

1977: William S. Johnson

1975: Rolf Huisgen

1973: Georg Wittig

1971: Herbert C. Brown

1969: Vladimir Prelog

1967: John D. Roberts

1965: Arthur C. Cope

1963: Paul D. Bartlett

1961: Robert B. Woodward

1959: Sir Derek H. R. Barton

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Stephen L. Buchwald (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Rick Lane Danheiser (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS